• 10 Asean pop artists grace landmark lighting event


    August 8 marks a milestone in Philippine history as the 50th founding anniversary of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Asean) coincides with the country’s chairmanship of the regional alliance.

    Hosted by the Department of Foreign Affairs in collaboration with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCAA), Asean 2017 National Organizing Council and participating government agencies, the Asean Day Landmark Lighting with the theme “Under One Light, We Are One Asean,” is set at the CCP Grounds in Pasay City to be followed by a concert at the BGC Ampitheater in Taguig City.

    Simultaneously holding the grand celebration are the capitals of the member-states and 63 key cities in the Philippines with their respective landmark lighting programs.

    A colorful parade starts at 3 pm at the Rizal Park—featuring the Far Eastern University (FEU) flag dancers, the Presidential Security Group (PSG) marching band and delightful Higantes wearing Asean national costumes—leading to CCP.

    Headlined by Philippine balladeer Christian Bautista, singing the “Asean Spirit” along with the Hail Mary the
    Queen Choir, the program also features top singers from the member states showcasing their best hits.

    The artists are Myanmar’s popstar Eint Chit, Cambodia’s Kong Sothearith, Thailand’s beauty Natthika Iamthamai, Brunei’s hearthrob Afiq Wafim Vietnam’s crooner Hai Nam Le, singer-violinist Ismi Halida of Indonesia, Malaysia’s young diva Dhiya Suhaili Binti and Latchana Anoulack of Lao PDR.

    Immediately following the CCP event, the Asean pop artists are then joined in a concert at BGC by leading Filipino acts, Up Dharma Down, 6Cycle Mind, Itchy Worms, Baihana Trio, The Nightingales, The Juans, Thyro and Yumi, Franco and the cast of “Rak of Aegis.”


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.