10 killed, 11 hurt in series of clashes, landmine attacks in Davao Del Sur


Ten people were killed while 11 others wounded following a series of clashes and landmine attacks in Matanao town, Davao Del Sur on Monday morning.

Capt. William Alfred Rodriquez, 1002nd Infantry Brigade civil-military operations officer, said six of those killed were soldiers, two policemen and the remaining two were rebel fighters.

Rodriquez said the slain soldiers were on their way to reinforce the military’s Dongapekong Detachment in Matanao town which was being harassed by the rebels, when the New People’s Army (NPA) detonated a landmine as their convoy was passing through Barangay Asbang.

Six troopers were immediately killed in the blast while eight others wounded.

Earlier, an estimated 50 rebels attacked the Matanao Municipal Police Station around 4:30 a.m., killing two police officers and wounding three others.

The slain police officers were identified as PO3 Danny Laganse Moalong and PO3 Manolo Lazarte Booc Jr.

Those wounded were identified as Insp. Renato Yulin Uy, PO1 Sherwin Ray Diapana Cadungog and P01 Nelbert Portabes.

The NPA force was under the command of one Felix Armodia, leader of the rebels’ Front 72.

The rebel force managed to snatch seven M-16 automatic rifles, two 9-mm pistols, one .45-caliber pistol and two hand-held radios.

Pursuing government soldiers killed two of the attacking rebels in Barangay Saboy.

Rodriquez said that pursuit operations are still ongoing. PNA


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.