10 teams to vie for Shakey’s V-L Collegiate crown

UP’s Katherine Bersola puts one over lanky Jaja Santiago of NU. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

UP’s Katherine Bersola puts one over lanky Jaja Santiago of NU. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Ten teams will be seeing action in the 2016 Shakey’s V-League Collegiate Conference beginning on July 30 at the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City.

Defending champion National University, two-time University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) titlist Ateneo de Manila University and reigning National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) champion College of Saint Benilde will be heading the list of participants this season.

The other competing teams are San Sebastian College-Recoletos, University of Perpetual Help System DALTA, Far Eastern University (FEU), University of the Philippines (UP), University of Santo Tomas (UST), San Beda College and Technological Institute of the Philippines (TIP).

UAAP Season 78 Best Spiker Jaja Santiago and Filipino-Japanese Risa Sato will spearhead the Lady Bulldogs’ title-retention bid along with veteran players Jorelle Singh, Roma Doromal, Aiko Urdas, Roselyn Doria, Audrey Paran, Gayle Valdez, Jasmine Nabor and St. Mary’s High School-California recruit Larnie Aberin.

On the other hand, Ateneo will be playing without three-time UAAP Most Valuable Player (MVP) Alyssa Valdez, leaving Jhoana Maraguinot, Bea De Leon and Kim Gequillana leading the front line along with setter Julia Melissa Morado, and returning players Michelle Morente and Ana Gopico.

The Lady Bulldogs and Lady Eagles are in Group A together with San Sebastian, Perpetual Help and TIP while playing in Group B are Benilde, FEU, UST, UP and San Beda.

The top three teams after the elimination round will advance to the round-robin quarterfinal stage. The top four in the quarterfinals will play in a best-of-three semifinal series with the No. 1 facing the No. 4, and the No. 2 battling the No. 3.

Shakey’s V-League Open Conference Season MVP and NCAA two-time MVP Grethcel Soltones banners the Lady Stags while EJ Laure, Cherry Ann Rondina, Chlodia Cortez and Ria Meneses will be the Tigresses’ main weapons this season.

UP is also intact led by Open Conference Second Best Middle Blocker Katherine Bersola, UAAP Season 78 Rookie of the Year Isa Molde, Diana Carlos, Marian Buitre and Nicole Tiamzon.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.