126th PSL National Series names MOS awardees


Eighteen tankers were named Most Outstanding Swimmers (MOS) in Class C division of the 126th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series – 12th Sen. Nikki Coseteng Short Course Swimming Championship held at the Diliman Preparatory School swimming pool in Quezon City.

Tara Beard of British School Manila, Ethan Apigo of Cainta Alpha Dragons and Aya Jewel Andres of Diliman Preparatory School shone the brightest in their respective age bands in the event supported by The Manila Times.

The Most Outstanding Swimmer awardees in Class C category pose for a photo with Philippine Swimming League President Susan Papa and Operations Manager Stephanie Sablan. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Beard earned 34 points to rule the girls’ 7-year while Apigo got 37 points to top the boys’ 7-year class. Andres claimed the top honors in the girls’ 10-year by virtue of her 40-point showing in the tournament that saw more than 500 tankers from Ilocos Norte, Cebu, Aklan, Davao, Dipolog, Cagayan de Oro and different parts of the National Capital Region.

Four members of the Pasig Blue Dragons bagged the MOS plums in their classes namely Eriah Andrae Abenir (boys’ 14-year), Jan Mikaela Caruncho (girls’ 15-over), John Danielle Fadriquela (boys’ 13-year) and Jan Khalel Caruncho (boys’ 10-year).

The other MOS winners were Sinagtala Cuevas (girls’ 8-year), Jamesray Mishael Ajido (boys’ 8-year), Dane Urquico (girls’ 9-year), Ezekiel Landicho (boys’ 9-year), Anna Victorino (girls’ 11-year), Paulo Andrei Donato (boys’ 11-year), Nicollete Beatrice Belgica (girls’ 12-year), Matthew Garcia (boys’ 12-year), Jasmine Omolon (girls’ 13-year), Rose Ann Billones (girls’ 14-year) and Lawrence Jacob Arabes (boys’ 15-over).

“These young swimmers will soon barge into the Elite Class. It’s a step-by-step process and we’re looking forward to see them grow in their chosen sport. Hopefully next year, they’ll be in the Class A-B,” said PSL President Susan Papa, who was accompanied by PSL operations manager Stephanie Sablan, secretary general Maria Susan Benasa and PSL regional director for National Capital Region Joan Mojdeh during the awarding ceremonies.

The PSL is recognized by the Philippine Sports Commission as an official swimming association in the country following its impressive grassroots development program that aims to train talented swimmers for future international competitions.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.