• 2015 Milo Little Olympics national finals begins


    Over 2,000 student-athletes from all over the country will compete for the coveted Milo Perpetual trophy in the 2015 Milo Little Olympics National finals opening today at Laguna Sports Complex in Sta. Cruz, Laguna.

    “The national finals is the culminating event of the Milo Little Olympics, where the champions are made. The regional teams have been preparing hard for this and we will soon witness the fruits of their hard work,” said Milo Sports Executive Robbie de Vera at a press conference in Malate on Thursday.

    The three-day national finals will be held in two major venues: Laguna Sports Complex in Sta. Cruz and CNA Town Center Mall in Pagsanjan, Laguna.

    “The venues did not only pass the national standards but also passed the international standards. It is very fitting for this national event,” said Laguna Governor Ramil Hernandez in Filipino who is also present at the conference.

    This year, key cities in Northern and Central Luzon, NCR and Southern Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao hosted four legs of Milo Little Olympics where over 19, 000 elementary and high school students from 700 schools competed in 15 sports.

    This year’s national finals will feature13 sports, namely athletics, badminton, basketball, chess, football, gymnastics, lawn tennis, swimming, table tennis, taekwondo, volleyball, sepak takraw and scrabble.

    Milo also introduced two demo sports – arnis and karatedo – this year.

    Recognized as the longest-running inter-school youth sports competition in the country, the Milo Little Olympics aims promoting values and mental discipline through sport. It is also Milo’s commitment to help the country find next its generation of sports heroes.

    Among successful athletes that started in Milo Little Olympics are Japoy Lizardo, Mika Reyes and Hannah Dato who recently competed in the SEA Games in Singapore.

    This year’s Milo Little Olympics is in partnership with Wilson, Molten, Butterfly, Marathon and 2Go Travel and endorsed by the Department of Education, Philippine Sports Commission and Philippine Olympic Committee.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.