Drilon new Senate President


It’s official senator Franklin Drilon is the new President of the Senate in the 16th Congress after majority memebrs of the chamber voted for him.

Voting 17-6 the Senate elected Drilon as head of the Senate while former Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile, who was also nominated for the post, automatically becomes the senate minority leader.

Senator Juan Edgardo Angara was the one who nominated Drilon for the post after acting majority leader Gregorio Honasan moved to open the senate election.

Neophyte Senator Nancy Binay was the one who nominated Enrile whom she described as a worthy leader.

Senator Joseph victor Ejercito Estrada seconded Enrile’s nomination.

As tradition dictates Drilon voted for Enrile while Enrile voted for Drilon.

As for the new Senate president Pro-tempore, Sen. Ralph Recto was elected by all 23 members of the chamber. He was unopposed.

Senator Alan Peter Cayetano on the other hand was elected as new senate majority leader, which was formerly held by Sen. Vicente Sotto 3rd.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.