• 34,151 Mayon evacuees to go home


    LEGAZPI CITY, Albay: Gov. Joey Salceda on Tuesday gave a green light to 9,841 families or 34,151 people living outside the seven to eight kilometer radius danger zone to go home on the condition that they will be ready for multi-zone re-evacuation to safe evacuation camps at all times.

    Salceda issued the directive during the cluster meeting of disaster officials presided by Director Raffy Alejandro, chairman of Regional Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council, and Cedric Daep, chief of Albay Public Safety Emergency Management Office (Apse-mo) at the AICED hall here.

    “Upon consultation with Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology [Phivolcs] and Mayon mayors, based on the hazard review and vulnerability update [population at risk]using the new markers identifying the 6-km radius permanent danger zone of Mayon Volcano, 33 barangays are allowed to return back to their residences,” the governor said.

    The evacuees who will be sent home are from the villages of Oson, San Isidro, Buhian in Tabaco City; San Roque and Canaway in Malilipot; Lidong, Fidel Surtida, Sta. Misericordia, San Fernando and San Isidro in Sto. Domingo; Budiao, Alcala, Miisi, Salvacion, Matnog and Banadero in Daraga; Cabangan, Quirangay, Salugan, Sua and Tumpa in Camalig; Maninila, Muladbucad Grande, Lumadbucad Pequeno, Tandarora, Masarawag, Dona Tomasa and Maipon in Guinobatan town and Tambo, Nabonton and Amtic in Ligao City.

    To remain at the evacuation camps are 4,191 familiers or 17,549 people from the villages of Magapo, Comon, Buang, Mariro and Nagsipit in Tabaco City, Calbayog in Malilipot, non-relocated resident of Miisi in Daraga, Anoling (non-relocated population only), Cabangan Purok 6, Quirangay Purok 4-7, Sua Purok 67 in Camalig, upper Muladbucad Grande in Guinobatan and Baligang in Ligao City.

    “However, should there be any escalating abnormal conditions of Mayon Volcano manifested in the observation parameters as observed by Phivolcs, the same shall be ready for a multi-zone re-evacuation to safe evacuation camps,” Salceda stressed.

    At least 12,757 families or 57,000 people from the municipalities of Guinobatan, Camalig, Daraga, Sto. Domingo, Malilipot and the cities of Ligao and Tabaco have been staying at 39 evacuation centers since September 15, when Phivolcs raised the status of Mayon to alert level 3.

    Three weeks ago, Daep requested Phivolcs Director Renato Solidum to conduct a survey to delineate and check the number of families living in the six to expanded 11-kilometer radius danger zone. The result of the survey was used by Apsemo to evacuate residents in the six-kilometer permanent danger zone.

    Daep also assured residents to be sent home that military trucks will be on standby to evacuate them again if necessary.

    Salceda earlier said P3.6 billion is needed to totally relocate the people in no man’s land area so that the provincial government will no longer resort to palliative solution or evacuating the residents in danger zone to safer grounds once the volcano becomes restive.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    1 Comment

    1. at bakit pinauwi na kung same pa rin ang status ng Mayon? dahil di masiguro ng Phivolcs kung kelan nga sasabog bulkan? or baka naman dahil sa kontrobersya kaya papauwiin na lang? ibaba muna ang status ng mayon, then saka pauwiin, pero mapapasama naman ang phivolcs kasi bukambibig nila na sasabog mayon sa lalong madaling panahon at ngayun papauwiin nila mga evacuees? ayos ah?lumalabas na pinagkakitaan nga ng ilan ang evacuation effort hehehe…