4th Tatt Awards honor social media celebs


IN recent years, social media has been an avenue for people to share their lives, interact with others and to be up-to-date with the news. Then there are those who take it a step further into using this relatively new technological platform to share their passion, raise awareness on important causes and inspire their followers to do well in the community.

Now on its fourth year, the Globe Tatt Awards continues to celebrate the “movers and shakers” social media in the Philppines. The awards night, dubbed “Expect the Unexpected” was held at the SMX Convention Center in Pasay City on August 8 and attended by the who’s who of the online community.

As senior vice president for Tattoo Broadband Business Gilbert Simpao shared, “Tatt Awards is Tattoo’s testament to making a mark and moving the world. Our mission to recognize greatness in the unexpected brings to life the brand’s philosophy alongside our portfolio of products and services that pave the way to fuel each and everyone’s different passions, giving each customer the power to express and make a difference.”

Powered by one of the leading telecommunications company in the Philippines, the Tatt Awards gives recognition to individuals who have used social media to positively influence their followers and to bring awareness to important matters—may it be health, current events, entertainment, fashion, technology or music.

This year, a glittering roster of celebrities attended the event, which was hosted by Drew Arellano and Bianca Gonzales. The big winner of the night was Showtime host and actor Vice Ganda, who received three awards, namely the Trending Twitter Phenomenon, the We Chat Choice of Chatters and the Supreme Trendsetter of the Year, which he shared with Richard Gutierrez and Sarah Lahbati’s love child, Baby Zion.

Nominations were deliberated by the Tatt Council, which included experts in different social media platforms, among them vice president for Globe Platinum Dong Ronquillo, Original Pilipino Music (OPM) advocate Jim Paredes, host Bianca Gonzales, sports enthusiast Mika Aereen, film director Erik Matti, young mayor Pie Alvarez, writer Bianca Consunji, matinee idol James Reid, and Rappler social media head Stacy de Jesus. The voting process ensued in July.

The complete roster of winners are as follows: YouTube Phenom of the Year, Jamich; The One, Kimpoy Feliciano; Instagram Phenom of the Year, Patrick Dee; Supreme Trendsetter of the Year, Vice Ganda and Baby Zion; Best Social Media Movement Award, Rappler’s move.ph; Best Digital Music Artist of the Year, Bamboo; Best Style Blog/MicroBlog Award, Tricia Gosingtian; Best Fitness Blog /MicroBlog Award, Erwan Heussaff’s thefatkidinside.com; Best Podcast Award, The Morning Rush; Best Lifestyle Blog /MicroBlog Award, Mad House MNL; and Best Tech Blog /MicroBlog Award, Yugatech.

Winners of the major categories received a cash prize of P100,000, while those given special awards also received P50,000.

Also Seen @ the Scene were Annabelle Rama, Eddie Gutierrez, Ellen Adarna, Jim Paredes, Rajo Laurel and Tim Yap.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.