• 5 envoys, COA, CSD chiefs fail to get CA nod


    FIVE ambassadors and two commissioners of the Commission on Audit (COA) and Civil Service Commission failed to get the nod of the Commission on Appointments (CA) Wednesday because their appointments were blocked by Senate minority leader Juan Ponce Enrile.

    All seven nominees were able to get the endorsements from the respective CA committees but failed to get their confirmation at the plenary after Enrile invoked Section 20 of the CA rules suspending the consideration of the appointments.

    Those who failed to get the CA’s nod were Foreign Affairs spokesperson Charles Jose as ambassador to Malaysia; Dennis Lepatan as ambassador to Norway, Iceland, Denmark, Finland and Sweden; Celia Anna Feria, ambassador to Spain and Andorra; Uriel Norman Garibay, ambassador to Kenya, Burundi, Comoros, Congo, Malawi, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan and as Permanent Representative to the United Nations Environmental Programme and UN-Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat); and Lilybeth Deapera, ambassador to Chile, Peru and Ecuador.

    Section 20 states that “Any member may move for the suspension of action by the commission on any nomination or appointment favorably recommended by a standing committee and the [chairman]shall suspend the consideration of said nomination or appointment.”

    Enrile in an interview explained that allowing the appointments of the ambassadors would deprive the next president the right to choose his own representatives.

    “Ambassadors deployed abroad are representatives of the president. It will be unfair to the next president if these people are appointed by the outgoing president,” he told reporters.
    The appointments of COA Commissioner Isabelle Dasalla-Agito and CSC Commissioner Nieves Osorio were also bypassed.

    Meanwhile, the CA confirmed the promotion of 28 military officials — Lieutenant Generals Romeo Tanalgo, Glorioso Miranda, and Mayoralgo dela Cruz; Rear Admirals Bayani Gaerlan, Jorge Amba and Rafael Mariano; Major Generals Benjamin Madrigal Jr., Arnold Rafael Depakakibo and Job Yucoco; Commodores Danilo Rodelas and Francisco Gabudao; and Brigadier Generals Ronnie Evangelista, Noel Clement, Nelia Valmonte, Robert Arevalo, Dinoh Dolina, Gerry Amante, Rodel Mauro Alarcon, David Diciano Sr., Gener Dela Rosario, and Arnel dela Vega.

    Also confirmed were Colonels Raul Hernandez, Philippine Navy-Marines (reserve); Jonathan Gabor, Philippine Navy-Marines and Armand Arevalo, Harold Anthony Pascua, Gerudel Dellosa, Consolito Yecla of the Philippine Army and Captain Aldrin Doctor.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.