6 Cabinet members to quit in September


Major changes are expected to take place in the Aquino Cabinet because some of its members are expected to vacate their respective posts in preparation for the 2016 elections.

Senate President Franklin Drilon said at least six members of the Cabinet will resign in October in time for the filing of certificates of candidacy (COC).

Among those who may run next year are Justice Secretary Leila De Lima, who is planning to run for the Senate, Secretary Joel Villanueva of the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority and Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman Francisco Tolentino.

Energy Secretary Jericho Petilla has also expressed his intention to run, as well as Agriculture Secretary Proceso Alcala.

Interior Secretary Manuel “Mar” Roxas 2nd will be vacating his post in preparation for his presidential bid.

“There will be many changes in the Cabinet. Some should be running for the Senate, others for their old political posts,” Drilon said.

Vice President Jejomar Binay, the chairman of the Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council and the presidential adviser on overseas Filipino worker affairs, will also be leaving the Cabinet by October to prepare for his presidential run.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.


  1. All of you resign and dont come back… You will receive Zero vote for all Liberal Party in this coming election. We will vote nationalista party including BBM for President..

  2. Abnoy-noyingski on

    Kaya kung gusto nating manakawan tayo ng labis labis, itong mga walanghiyang ito ang ibito natin! He he he! Sana madala naman tayo bilang mga botante at magka-utak! Please naman mga kabayan.