6 teams vie in BVR circuit


The second leg of the Beach Volleyball Republic (BVR) circuit will roll off today at the Kahuna Beach Resort in La Union with six teams taking part in the series organized by BVR group.

Former Ateneo de Manila University player Gretchen Ho and De La Salle University libero Melissa Gohing will be teaming up this leg while locals Jessica Dacanay of St. Louis College and Roxanne Almonte of University of Cordil¬leras will also join the circuit.

“BVR always strive to have more exciting matches every succeeding leg. The more beach volleyball games players play, the better exposed and experience they get. Consequently, competition gets better and better,” said Tan in an interview with The Manila Times.

The BVR founders are Ho, Bea Tan, Charo Soriano, Angeline Gervacio, and Fille Cainglet-Cayetano.

Soriano is partnering with Alexa Micek while Tan and Aby Marano will be grouped together.

Former collegiate players Judy Caballejo of University of Santo Tomas, Camille Abanto of Far Eastern University, Jonafer San Pedro and Jessa Aranda of Rizal Technological University will also see action in the tour.

During the first leg in Ilocos Sur, Nene Bautista and Jovelyn Gonzaga defeated the Micek–Soriano tandem, 21-13, 21-10, to pocket the P70,000 top purse.

Micek and Soriano settled for P40,000 consolation.

After the La Union leg, the circuit will go to Anguib Beach in Santa Ana, Cagayan on February 20 to 21 while Lakawon Island in Negros Occidental be the host on March 19 to 20 before it goes to Dapitan and Clark, Pampanga on April 16 to 17.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.