• 83 netters to see action in PCA Open Championships


    A total of 83 ranking players led by Marc Sieber and Johnny Arcilla have confirmed their participation in the 32nd Philippine Columbian Association (PCA) Open Championships slated on November 9 to December 8 at the PCA courts in Plaza Dilao, Paco Manila.

    PCA Open Chairman Alvin Dans said that defending champion and Philippine representative to the Davis Cup Arcilla will be aiming for a record seventh men’s singles title in the country’s longest running tennis tournament that offers P100,000 cash prize to the men’s singles winner.

    Arcilla will be up against fellow national players Onyok Anasta, Jeson Patrombon, Francis Casey Alcantara, Patrick John Tierro, Roland Ruel Jr., Alexander Lazaro and last year’s men’s singles runner-up Ruben Gonzales.

    “PCA Open tennis tournament continues to attract all the best players in the country. And we are proud to say that all 83 ranking players will be seeing action in this year’s edition. We are looking forward toward another exciting tournament,” said Dans.

    The tournament’s main sponsor Jean Henry Lhuillier also expressed his continued support to Philippine tennis.

    “Philippine tennis has gained popularity considering the so many tournaments that are being held in our country every year. This proved the growing interest in the sports,” said the Cebuana Lhuillier president, who is also the president of Philippine Amateur Softball Association of the Philippines.

    In the women’s class, among the favorites are reigning singles titlist Marian Jade Capadocia, last year’s runner-up and top seed Lehnert Katharina, Nicole Eugenio, Crizzabelle Paulino, Jazsh Canja, Anna Bienes, Clarice Patrimonio, Aileen Rogan, Alyssa Labay, Anna Christine Patrimonio, Maika Tanpoco, Jennelyn Magpayo and Maia Bernadette Balce.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.