• 83rd PSL National


    Series unfolds Saturday More than 400 tankers from different parts of the country will be seeing action in the 83rd Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series beginning today at the Diliman College Swimming Pool in Quezon City.

    Three categories will be staged this time -Class A and B, Class C and Motivational – as swimmers vie for slots in the prestigious 2017 Summer World University Games to be held in New Taipei City, Taiwan.

    Besides the Summer World University Games, the tournament will also serve as tryout for international tournaments in Japan, Thailand, Australia, China and Brazil.

    “We look forward for a blast off competitions for Universiade 2017 candidates and those that has recently attended the midget meet. PSL is really in a grassroots development program since it caters the youngest two years old up to oldest of 18 and over,” said PSL Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa.

    “Seriously, swimmers must undergo this process of development as there is no shortcuts in sports, it is measured by time and PSL can not go wrong in giving rise to athletes. At the end, it must be parallel with our goal of having sound mind and body,” added Benasa.

    Medals will be awarded to the top three finishers by age band while trophies await the Most Outstanding Swimmer awardees.

    Two swimmers (one male and one female) with the highest International Swimming Federation (FINA) points will get the President’s Trophy and P1,500 each.

    The PSL is coming off a successful campaign in the 2015 Singapore Invitational Swimming Championship, winning the overall championship title for the third straight year after bagging 117 medals (36 golds, 50 silvers and 31 bronzes) and the Singapore Midget Meet, bagging three golds, four silvers and three bronzes.

    PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.