• Adorna, Alindogan named 2013 Philippine Swimmers of the Year


    Ma. Claire Adorna and McTracy John Alindogan were named 2013 Philippine Swimmers of the Year by the Philippine Swimming League after their sterling performances both in local and international competitions.

    The 19-year-old Adorna was the unanimous choice as Swimmer of the Year for Girls while the 12-year-old Alindogan is the Swimmer of the Year for Boys.

    “Adorna, who opened the eyes of many swimmers, that swimming, a sport for all, is a role model, a heroine in swimming,” Philippine Swimming League (PSL) President Susan Papa said.

    Adorna, a member of the University of the Philippines swimming team, competed in the 2013 Summer World Universiade despite the threat of suspension from the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP).

    She captured four golds, one silver and one bronze along with three new records in her final year in the UAAP.

    Adorna, was also a consistent Most Outstanding Swimmer in local and international tournaments, the last of which was in the 2013 Royal Bangkok Swim Meet in Bangkok, Thailand in December.

    For his part, Alindogan was a Palarong Pambansa gold medalist and a consistent Most Outstanding Swimmer in the PSL Leg Series. He was a Most Outstanding Swimmer in the Singapore Swim Meet in August and in the Royal Bangkok.

    The Rookie of the Year for Girls goes to Jasmine Micaela Mojdeh, who was also a consistent Most Outstanding Swimmer on her category when she started competing from 38th PSL series to 51st edition except for the 37th PSL Leg.

    Mojdeh also competed in international Bangkok where she showed her true sportsmanship.

    “Despite her illness, she went out of the hospital just to compete along with her teammates in relay event where they won the gold medal and broke the existing meet record held by Thailand,” added Papa.

    For the boys, Rookie of the Year is Michael Gabriel Lozada, who started competitive swimming in May 2013 at the age of six and was a consistent Most Outstanding Swimmer. He did not miss any PSL Leg competitions despite travelling all the way from Aklan Province. His first international competition was in Singapore last August and bagged Most Outstanding Swimmer in his age category. In Bangkok, he also got the Most Outstanding Swimmer.

    The Coach of the Year is Richard Ryan Robles of R3 Aquaspeed Swimming Team winning six overall team championship trophies, one first runner-up and one second runner-up.

    The PSL is giving the Lifetime Achievement Award to Ruben Luna of De La Salle University-Dasmarinas. He is now in his 80’s.

    “I was 13 years old when I saw him coaching and up to now, he is still actively helping the swimming community. My hats off to Mang Ben, he deserves to be the first Hall of Fame in Swimming for Philippine Swimming League,” Papa said.

    Other candidates were Paula Cayanan, Charize Juliana Esmero, Joy Rodgers and Jesreel Francisco (girls’ category); Emanuel Joshua Lorbes, Sean Terence Zamora and Maurice Sacho Ilustre (boys’ category); Kyla Soguilon, Aubrey Tom and Christian Phoebe Orlina (girls’ rookie); Lanz Alonzo, Noah Labasan, Gabriel Labasan and Lance Cruz (boys rookie0; and Joey Andaya, Virgie de Luna, Mike Racel and Al Papa (coaches).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.