Ahomiro gets to play on new PVL ruling


The Premier Volleyball League has recently amended its rule on permanent foreign residents, paving the way for former Ateneo star Amy Ahomiro to see action for the Perlas Lady Spikers in the PVL Open Conference starting this Saturday.

Ricky Palou, president of the organizing Sports Vision, said the league will still allow players with Alien Certificate of Residence (ACR) to see action in the upcoming tournament provided they have been residents for at least 10 years.

BaliPure import Jennifer Keddy (left) defies Perlas’ Sue Roce and Amy Ahomiro’s defense with a kill during their PVL Reinforced Conference match at the Filoil Flying V Center in San Juan. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Ahomiro studied high school at Brent School before suiting up for the Lady Eagles where she was part of their two UAAP champion teams.

“Our next conference is an Open Conference, not All-Filipino,” said Palou. “This is so because we will allow foreign nationals who are residents of the Phl and holders of an ACR to play in our league.

“However, we have put a restriction as only foreign residents and ACR holders for 10 continuous years will be allowed to play in Open Conference,” he added.

The rule change, however, would bar Pachari Sangmuang from suiting up for the Power Smashers. The Thai power hitter has an ACR but she has been a resident here for just the last three years.

“Yes, Kiwi (Ahomiro) will play this conference,” said Charo Soriano, one of the Perlas managers and co-founder of Beach Volleyball Republic.

Ahomiro will thus re-join a talented crew of former State U standouts Kat Bersola and Nicole Tiamzon, Ateneo libero Gizelle Tan, Ella de Jesus, Jam Ferrer, Suzanne Roces, Mae Tajima and Ryssabel Devanadera.

Perlas, however, will miss seasoned attacker Dzi Gervacio, who has taken a leave of absence to study in the US.

Perlas clashes Air Force in the main game of the two-match opener at 6:30 p.m. with Creamline battling Adamson-Akari at 4 p.m. at the Filoil Flying V Center in San Juan.

The other participating teams are Hapee Toothpaste, BaliPure, Power Smashers and defending champion Pocari Sweat.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.