Aklan preparing warm welcome for PSL Leg Series participants



Preparations for the 56th edition of the Philippine Swimming League (PSL) Series dubbed as the 1st Ted Haresco Jr. Swimming Cup are in full swing in Kalibo and Malay in Aklan.

The competition will be hosted by Aklan Swimming Team headed by its President Kokoy Soguilon. The regular swimming event will be held at the Aklan Sports Complex on April 26, and the open water category on April 27 in Boracay.

PSL President Susan Papa is working hand in hand with the Philippine Red Cross (PRC) Boracay Malay Chapter which will handle the logistics of the open water competition.

Papa visited the training venue of the Red Cross for a series of tutorials involving young swimmers from Aklan. Red Cross Chairman Nieva Mendoza wants more Aklanon to participate in an open water competition.

“With the assistance of Philippine Swimming League, we are now aiming, from the goal of 2,000 children to the ambitious triple the number of children that will learn on how to swim and in the future save lives of others as well. So that others may live and be aware,” Mendoza said.

Elena Tosco Brugger, Chairperson of the PRC Youth Boracay-Malay chapter, said: “Think and dream big. We’ll start with baby steps, one kid at a time to make a difference in the lives of our future generation.”

“The joint cooperation between PRC Boracay Malay Chapter and Philippine Swimming League will promote sports tourism in the No. 1 tourist destination in the country.

PSL is happy that more young kids are involved in swimming and that is our main objective to have a healthy citizenry and help the state that more kids put into scholarship,” added Papa.

The PRC is conducting massive tryouts for the young Aklanons in preparation for the open sea water to be held in Station 2.

The PSL, the national sports association for swimming by Federation of School Sports of the Philippines and an affiliate of the Federation International Sports University, holds the longest grassroots development program in the Philippines.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.