‘AlDub’ leads 28th Aliw awardees tonight

Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza

Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza, Breakthrough Performers of the Year

Television’s phenomenal breakout pair, AlDub—comprised of Alden Richards and Maine “Yaya Dub” Mendoza—will lead tonight’s awardees at the 28th Annual Aliw Awards for Live Entertainment. To be held at the Star Theater in Star City at 8 p.m., the organization’s founding and current president Alice Reyes said that the stars of Eat Bulaga’s Kalyeserye will be jointly be recognized as the “Breakthrough Performer(s) of the Year.”

The annual Aliw Awards—which is co-produced by Eagle Broadcasting Corporation, Star Theater and 8 Trimedia Pro, with The Manila Times as one of its media partners—is much-awaited by the country’s live entertainment industry, especially since it stands as the first and only award-giving body for all forms of live entertainment.

As such, over 40 categories are up for grabs in Aliw’s 28th edition, with Entertainer of the Year as the top award.

“AlDub is being honored by the organization for the extraordinary impact the pair has made on the viewing public,” said Reyes.

The awards night will further honor three individuals who have long excelled in their respective fields. They are Joonee Gamboa, an icon of Philippine contemporary theater; Miguel Faustmann, theater actor, director and set designer; and Roxanne Lapus, theater actor.

Five special awards will meanwhile be given to individuals who have contributed greatly to the live entertainment scene. They are Danny Dolor for Harana sa Dapit Hapon; Herminigildo Ranera for his achievements as Orchestra Conductor; Basildas Pilapil Jr. of the Walking Theater of Min-danao; Leonilo Agustin for advocating “historically correct festivals;” and the St. Anne Theater and Dance Company for uplifting artistic and cultural consciousness of the youth.

Meanwhile, Public Attorney’s Office Chief and The Manila Times columist, lawyer Presida Rueda Acosta and Manila City Representative Amado Bagatsing each be recognized with the first ever Alice Hernandez Reyes Achievement Awards.

Acosta is cited for upholding the rights of the underprivileged and for seeking justice for all, while Bagatsing is recognized for his dedication to public service, concretized by his Kabaka Foundation, which has been helping the poor in his district for the past three decades.

Finally, four live performers are set to be elevated to Aliw Award’s Hall of Fame for having won in the same category three times. They are Liesl Batucan, Best Actress; Toni Gonzaga, Best Female Emcee; Tanghalang SLU, Best Cultural Group; and Ballet Manila, Best Dance Company.

The 28th Aliw Awards night will be directed by Hall of Famer Roxanne A. Lapus, with Butch Miraflor as Musical Director.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.