Ang Liga 14th season begins today


The 14th season of the Ang Liga premier collegiate football tournament is set to kick off with a triple-header at the San Beda College-Manila Football Field today.

The opening day will begin at 8 a.m. with the first division clash between Lyceum of the Philippines University and defending University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) champions University of the Philippines.

The Fighting Maroons will be fielding young talents led by Kintaro Miyagi and JB Borlongan in their hunt for the title.

The 2015 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) runner-up LPU Pirates, on the other hand, are looking for redemption after failing to rule the mother league last season.

In the 1 p.m. game, former NCAA titleholder San Beda College (SBC) will test the might of last year’s second division victors University of Batangas (UB).

Also happening in the day at 10 a.m. is the match between SBC Team B and UP Team B in the second division of the competition.

Twenty squads from the National Capital Region and nearby provinces will be divided into two divisions to vie for pre-season trophy.

This year, Ang Liga will be utilizing a single round league format that will be pitting each team against each other only once throughout the season.

Far Eastern University (FEU) leads the teams in the top tier together with University of the Philippines (UP), Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU), National University (NU), University of Santo Tomas (UST) and University of the East (UE), College of Saint Benilde, SBC, UB, and LPU.

The second tier is composed of Emilio Aguinaldo College, University of Perpetual Help System DALTA, Malayan Colleges Laguna, Don Bosco Technical College, De La Salle Araneta and Rizal Technical University as well as the reserve teams of SBC, FEU, UP and UST.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.