Ani ng Dangal awardees announced

Nora Aunor with NCCA’s Marichu Tellano

Nora Aunor with NCCA’s Marichu Tellano

EIGHTY-THREE Filipinos from different fields of arts will be honored by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) through its annual Ani ng Dangal Awards.

Now on its eighth year, Ani ng Dangal (Harvest of Honors) is slated on February 29 at the Samsung Hall of SM Aura in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig. Leading the awarding ceremonies is NCCA Chairman Felipe de Leon Jr.

Leading this year’s awardees for the second year in a row is premiere actress Nora Aunor for cinema. Joining her in the category are Cherie Gil, Aiko Melendez, Albert Chan Paran, Allen Dizon, Benjamin Tolentino, Brillante Mendoza, Carlo Enciso Catu, Epy Quizon, Emilio Garcia, Joseph Israel Laban, Jun Robles Lana, Lemuel Lorca, Sid Lucero, Liza Diño, LJ Reyes, Louie Ignacio, Micko Laurente, Ralston Javier, Richard Gomez, Sigrid Andrea Bernardo, Carlo Enciso Catu, Kidlat Tahimik, Zig Dulay, Benito Bautista, Francis Xavier Pasion, Roderick Cabrido, Perci Intalan, Jeffrey Jeturian, Will Fredo, Louise Isabel Mendoza, Ida Anita Del Mundo, Joel Lamangan, Gabby Fernandez, Jason Paul Laxamana, Nash Ang, Reggie Entienza, Carlo Obispo, Christian Lat, Khavn De La Cruz, Janice O’Hara, Antoinette Jadaone, Don Frasco, Anj Macalanda, and Brilliante Ma. Mendoza.

To be honored for visual arts are Ana Katrina Miranda, Ananda Wisely, Herbert Bagolbagol, Jamia Mei Tolentino, Jamille Bianca Aguilar, John Herrera, Jophel Botero Ybiosa, Maria Angelica Tejada, Mandy Javillonar, Robert Anton Aparante, Ruston Banal and Trisha Co Reyes.

Rachelle Ann Go leads this year’s awardees on dramatic arts

Rachelle Ann Go leads this year’s awardees on dramatic arts

In music, awardees are Aleron Choir, Anna Tabita Abeleda-Piquero, Ateneo Chamber Singers, Boschorale, Imusicapella, Los Cantantes de Manila, Ryan Tamondong, Triple Fret, University of Visayas Chorale, University of the Philippines Concert Chorus, University of the Philippines Manila Chorale, University of Santo Tomas Singers, Acapellago and Kammerchor Manila.

Completing the list of winners are are Christian Salandanan (architecture and allied arts); GMA 7’s Front Row (broadcast arts); Bayanihan National Folkdance Company, Halili-Cruz School of Ballet, Jamaica France Jornacion and Lawrence Santiago, Klivert John Mendoza, Sayawatha and Upeepz (for dance); and Bernardo Bernardo, Jhett Tolentino and Rachelle Ann Go (dramatic arts).

The annual awards, which is NCCA’s grand event in celebration of the National Arts Month held every February, aims to highlight the excellence of Filipinos in their respective fields.

To pay tribute to the selected artists’ achievements and contributions, the Ani ng Dangal Exhibit will also be displayed during the awards night featuring the awardees’ works and trophies.

“We encourage our artists, our awardees, to take the lead and inspire especially the young and upcoming artists to do excellent work,” Marichu Tellano, chief of the Plan/Policy Formulation and Programming Division of the NCCA, said in an interview.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.