• Anton, Garrido cap 2015 karting season with victories

    Iñigo Anton has proven once again he is the one to beat among the young stars in Philippine karting. VORTEX-ROX.COM

    Iñigo Anton has proven once again he is the one to beat among the young stars in Philippine karting. VORTEX-ROX.COM

    Young Filipino karters Iñigo Anton and Joaquin Garrido capped the 2015 Petron Blaze 100 ROK National Karting Super Series with victories in the closing races of the season held at the Carmona Race Track in Cavite over the weekend.

    The event was composed of four classes: ROK Class; Formula SL Class; Minirok Class; and Formula Cadet Class. A total of 24 participants took part in the concluding two-day event of the 2015 season.

    Nine battles were held including the much-anticipated Formula Cadet class, where young racers aged 7 to 8 competed.

    Filipino karting star Anton emerged as the champion of the Formula Cadet Novice Ultron with Khazart Romoff, Constantin Reisch, Maverick Corpus and Miguel Angeles also making the podium finish at first, second, third and fourth runners-up position, respectively.

    Young racing prodigy Garrido maintained his reign at the top of the rankings in the Formula Cadet Expert Ultron since the last edition of the race in September 2015 to clinch the final trophy in his class.

    Also, Romoff took the home another title, this time as champion of the Cebu Club Race with Miguel Angeles following closely as runner-up.

    Meanwhile, Eduardo Coseteng topped the Minirok XCS Class with a total time of 12:16.647 (minutes:seconds), edging close rival Jarred Kim by just 0.137 seconds in the 15-lap bout.

    In the September 2015 race of the series, the karting rivals also went head-to-head but it was Kim who came out victorious by 0.0174 of a second against Coseteng.

    Raprap Gutierrez, on the other hand, landed in third place in the Minirok Class, trailing the top two seeds by eight seconds with a time of 12:25.

    Filipina karting sensation Bianca Bustamante was triumphant in the KF Restricted Blaze 100 class with a time of 14:24 while Keon Romoff was named as the first runner-up with a time of 14:47.

    John Dizon grabbed the title in the KF Junior Blaze 100 Class with a time of 14:27, 20 seconds ahead of second placer Mikey Jordan, who registered a total time of 14:47.

    Also, Tai Zulberti won the Formula SL Novice Extra class, clocking in a time of 16:15 to edge Gabrielle Garcia by an impressive 34.95 seconds.

    In the ROK Novice Blaze 100 Class, Jacky Lo seized the trophy against tough contenders Rhett and Jericke Holganza, who landed in second and third place, respectively.

    Lastly, Jerry Choi was crowned as the top racer in the ROK Expert Blaze 100 battle while Michael Jordan emerged first runner-up.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.