• Aprilia takes Round 4 of PH Superbike series

    Superbike action at the Clark speedway

    Superbike action at the Clark speedway

    ROUND 4 of the 2014 Pirelli Philippine Superbike Championship again saw Team Aprilia locking out the front row of the grid. Held amid torrential rains on August 3 at the Clark International Speedway, the race was clinched by Team Aprilia’s Marvin Mangulabnan, breaking teammate Dashi Watanabe’s winning streak.

    It was Mangulabnan’s first victory of the season.

    Watanabe grabbed second place after starting sixth on the grid. Rainiel Resuello, on a Ducati, finished third, less than a second behind Watanabe.

    Rizaldy Canare won the Intermediate Class and finished fourth overall, with Jussi Hoikka and Tracy Soyangco following behind him. TJ Alberto on a Ducati was the fastest Novice Class rider and landed seventh overall.

    In the FDR Underbone King Championship John Inguito of Team JVT took the 150cc Open Division with a commanding 5.165-second lead over Gerald Cruz and Herbert Lopez. Niño Fabian of Team Racewell clinched the fastest lap of the race but crashed out with two laps to go.

    Gio Adriano won the 115cc Open Class while Aldeine Valencia was the highest finishing 115cc Novice Class rider.

    In the FDR Scooter Racing Championship, Masato Fernando again clinched victory in the 180cc category. The race was hard-fought among the top four racers, which, besides Fernando, included Aljon Valencia, Dustin Esguerra and Nicolo Ramos. All finished less than a second from each other.

    Valencia won in 160cc as McKinley Paz went home with the 130cc trophy.

    In the Pirelli Cup, ATAT Racing Team’s Jevis Aguila won Race 1 while Alberto clinched Race 2.

    The Ducati Cup’s second race of the weekend was canceled because of bad weather. Still, Alberto bagged the overall win as he secured the top spot in the first scheduled race. He was followed to the podium by Jussi Hoika and Toti Alberto—his father. Ronald Singson was the best finisher in the Celebrity Class.

    In MotoIR, Canare and Vrei Suba battled until the final lap, with the former winning by 0.1 second. Adriano again took the class win in MotoIR2.

    Maiko Adapon won the MTRT Club race, EJ Sobretodo the MTRT Cup 115cc Scooter Class and the Honda Beat Cup, and Paz the Honda Dash Cup.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.