Aquino appoints 10 new judges


President Benigno Aquino 3rd has appointed 10 new judges in courts in different provinces.

In a one-page transmittal letter of Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa to Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno dated November 27, 2013, but released just recently, new judges have been assigned to Catanduanes, Benguet, Baguio, La Union, Ilocos Sur and Cebu.

For the Regional Trial Courts (RTCs), the new appointees are Judge Maria Ligaya Itliong-Rivera, who was assigned to Branch 5 of the Baguio City RTC, Judge Ivan Kim Morales to Branch 59 also of the Baguio City RTC and Caroline Rojas Jaucian to Branch 26 of the San Fernando, La Union RTC.

Judge Glenda Ching Co, meanwhile, was appointed to Branch 65 of the Cebu RTC at Talisay City.

For the Municipal Trial Courts (MTC), the appointees are Judge Francisco Torres of the 1st Municipal Circuit Trial Court (MCTC) of San Miguel, Catanduanes; Judge Bernadette Balangitan Badecao of MTC Santo Tomas, La Union; Judge Melita Amylesha Delson-Macaraeg of 1st MCTC, Kapangan-Kibungan, Benguet; Judge Homer Jay Ragonjan of MTC, Cabugao, Ilocos Sur; and Judge Jaime Bugain of the 6th MCTC, Santiago-San Esteban, Ilocos Sur.

The appointment papers signed by Aquino states, “By virtue hereof, you may qualify and enter upon the performance of the duties of the office, furnishing this Office and the Civil Service Commission with copies of your oath of office.”

The said appointees were screened by the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) headed by its chairperson, Sereno, with three ex-officio members, namely: Justice Secretary Leila de Lima and Sen. Aquilino Pimentel 3rd.

Currently, the JBC also has three regular members including lawyer Jose Mejia from the Academe, lawyer Milagros Fernan-Cayosa from the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, representing the private sector, and retired Court of Appeals Justice Aurora Santiago-Lagman.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.