• Aquino bares regular, special holidays in 2014


    PresidenT Benigno Aquino 3rd issued Proclamation 655 declaring regular holidays, special non-working holidays, and a special holiday for 2014.

    Palace spokesman Edwin Lacierda said 10 will be regular holidays, seven special non-working days, and one special holiday for all schools.

    Included in the regular holidays is the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha. The dates will be issued after “the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient,” the proclamation read.

    The National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) “shall inform the Office of the President on which day the holiday shall fall,” it added.

    The regular holidays will be New Year’s Day, January 1, Araw ng Kagitingan, April 9, Maundy Thursday, April 17, Good Friday, April 18, May 1 Labor Day, Independence Day, June 12, National Heroes Day, August 25, Bonifacio Day, November 30, Christmas Day, December 25 and Rizal Day, December 30.

    Special (non-working) days are Chinese New Year, January 31, Black Saturday, April 19, Ninoy Aquino Day, August 21 and All Saints Day, November 1. Additional special (non-working) days will be December 24, December 26 and December 31.

    February 25, the anniversary of the EDSA revolution, will be a special holiday for all schools.

    Catherine S. Valente


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.