• Aquino declares holidays for 2015


    President Benigno Aquino 3rd issued Proclamation 831 declaring regular holidays, special non-working holidays and a special holiday for 2015.

    Of the 17 holidays, 10 will be regular holidays, seven as special non-working days, and one special holiday for all schools.

    Regular holidays include New Year’s Day, January 1 (Thursday); Maundy Thursday, April 2; Good Friday, April 3; Araw ng Kagitingan, April 9 (Thursday); Labor Day, May 1 (Friday); Independence Day, June 12 (Friday); National Heroes’ Day, August 31 (Monday); Bonifacio Day, November 30 (Monday); Christmas Day, December 25 (Friday); and Rizal Day, December 30 (Wednesday).

    Special non-working days, meanwhile, include January 2 (Friday); Chinese New Year, February 19 (Thursday); Black Saturday, April 4; Ninoy Aquino Day, August 21 (Friday); All Saints Day, November 1 (Sunday); Christmas Eve, December 24 (Thursday); and New Year’s Eve, December 31 (Thursday).

    The Edsa People Power Revolution anniversary on February 25 (Wednesday) shall also be a special holiday for all schools.

    The President also declared the observance of Eid’l Fit’r and Eid’l Adha as national holidays but the dates will be issued after “the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar [Hijra] or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient.”


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.