Aquino issues official list of holidays for 2014

1

President Benigno Aquino 3rd issued Proclamation 655 declaring regular holidays, special non-working holidays, and a special holiday for the year 2014, a Malacañang official announced on Monday.

Advertisements

In a press conference, Palace spokesman Edwin Lacierda said that the following regular holidays and special days for the year 2014 shall be observed in the country.

Of the 2014 holidays, 10 will be regular holidays, seven as special non-working days, and one as a special holiday for all schools.

Included in the regular holidays is the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha. The date for this will be issued after “the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient,” the proclamation read.

The National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) “shall inform the Office of the President on which day the holiday shall fall,” it added

The following are the holidays and special days for the year 2014:

 

Regular Holidays: New Year’s Day, January 1 (Wednesday); Araw ng Kagitingan, April 9 (Wednesday); Maundy Thursday, April 17; Good Friday, April 18; Labor Day, May 1 (Thursday); Independence Day, June 12 (Thursday); National Heroes Day, August 25 (Last Monday of August); Bonifacio Day, November 30 (Sunday); Christmas Day, December 25 (Thursday); Rizal Day, December 30 (Tuesday).

Special (non-working) days: Chinese New Year, January 31 (Friday); Black Saturday, April 19; Ninoy Aquino Day, August 21 (Thursday); All Saints Day, November 1 (Saturday).

Additional special (non-working) days: December 24 (Wednesday); December 26 (Friday); Last Day of the Year, December 31 (Wednesday). Special Holiday (for all schools): EDSA Revolution Anniversary,

February 25 (Tuesday).

The Palace official said that the President signed the proclamation on September 25 and will take effect immediately.

The Department of Labor and Employment, on one hand, shall promulgate its implementing guidelines, Lacierda added. CATHERINE S. VALENTE

Share.
loading...
Loading...

Please follow our commenting guidelines.

1 Comment

  1. this early issuance of the list of holidays will make our fellow filipinos plan ahead, it maybe for pleasure, business, religious, medical and others.