Aquino leads PNPA commencement rites


President Benigno Aquino 3rd is guest of honor and speaker at the 36th commencement exercises on Thursday for the Lakandula Class of 2015 of the Philippine National Police Academy (PNPA) composed of 227 male and 20 female cadets.

“Lakandula” stands for ”Lahing Kayumanggi Na Handang I-alay sa Bayan ang Dugo at Lakas.”

The 247 graduates will immediately be automatically commissioned as officers in the Philippine National Police (PNP), Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) and Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP), the Philippine Public Safety College (PPSC), the agency that supervises the PNPA, announced on Wednesday.

“After four years of rigorous training these cadets who passed the rigid admission and screening processes of the PNPA will be conferred with the baccalaureate degree of Bachelor of Science in Public Safety (BSPS),” PPSC head Ricardo de Leon said.

The top cadet will receive the highest honors to be given by the President, he added.

All members of the graduating class, according to de Leon, will then take their oath as newly commissioned officers of the PNP, BFP and BJMP with the rank of Inspector, equivalent to Lieutenant in the military, de Leon said.

The PNPA director, Chief Supt. Armando Ramolete, said of the total 247 graduating cadets, 226 are joining the PNP, 11 the BFP and 10 the BJMP.

About 20 of the 226 cadets joining the PNP reportedly wish to enlist with the Special Action Force (SAF), the elite police unit that lost 44 of its members on January 25 in Mamasapano, Maguindanao, in a clash with separatist rebels.

Six SAF officers killed in the fighting were PNPA graduates.

This year’s PNPA top ten graduates are: Cadets Dennis M. Yuson Jr. of General Santos City; Rod Kevin T. Talplacido of Santa Rosa, Nueva Ecija; Marion H. Landing of Cauayan, Negros Occidental; Raymund B. Caguioa of Taguig City, Metro Manila; Michael S, Giner of Diplahan, Zamboanga Sibugay; Kenneth F. Lumbre of Nabua, Camarines Sur; Nathaniel D. Faulve of Muntinlupa City, Metro Manila; Roel R. Bata of Santa Rita, Pampanga; Mark Jonathan Z. Avillano of Tondo, Manila; and Julie Anne L. Aguilar of Antipolo City, Rizal.

As class valedictorian, Cadet Yuson will receive the President of the Philippines Kampilan Award, PPSC President Kampilan Award and PNP Chief Kampilan Award.

Cadet Talplacido as No. 2 graduate will be feted with the Vice President of the Philippines Kampilan Award and Journalism Kampilan Award.

No.3 Cadet Landing will receive the Secretary of the Interior and Local Government Kampilan Award and Athletic Kampilan Award.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.