• ASEAN foreign-minister-meeting to kick off in Myanmar


    NAY PYI TAW: Foreign ministers of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) have gathered in Myanmar’s capital of Nay Pyi Taw for their 47th meeting and related meetings due to begin later on Friday.

    Marking the 47th ASEAN Day, Myanmar President U Thein Sein will deliver a keynote address on the occasion.

    The annual ASEAN Foreign Ministers Meeting (AMM) at the Myanmar Convention Center will also bring their counterparts from dialogue partner countries to discuss political, security and developmental issues that have significant impact on the region, said a press release of the bloc.

    As the ASEAN Chair for 2014, Myanmar Foreign Minister U Wunna Maung Lwin will preside over the meeting.

    The three-day AMM is set to deliberate on important political, security and developmental issues crucial to ASEAN which are regarded as community building, efficiency and coherence of ASEAN institutions, ASEAN’s external relations and its centrality in the evolving regional architecture as well as regional and international issues and developments of common concern.

    Le Luong Minh, ASEAN Secretary-General said in the release that the AMM is an important meeting for ASEAN in pushing forward the growing momentum towards the establishment of the ASEAN Community in 2015 and the development of its post-2015 vision.

    He said the meeting is also significant in forging strategies to enhance ASEAN centrality and unity in light of the recent developments as well as the shifting strategic landscape in the region.

    Following the AMM, ASEAN Foreign Ministers will meet with their counterparts of the bloc’s dialogue partners on Saturday that include Australia, Canada, China, European Union (E.U.), India, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Russia and the United States.

    There will be 21st ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) involving 26 countries and the E.U.

    ARF is a consultative platform for promoting open dialogue on political and security cooperation in the Asia Pacific region. ASEAN established ARF in 1993 to foster constructive dialogue and make significant contributions towards confidence-building, preventive diplomacy and conflict resolution in Asia-Pacific.

    A joint communique is expected to be issued at the conclusion of the AMM.

    ASEAN comprises 10 member countries — Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. PNA


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.