• Asian Games bets to come from Le Tour finishers


    The Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines (PhilCycling) will use the 2014 Le Tour de Filipinas as basis to select riders for the 17th Asian Games scheduled in September in Incheon, South Korea.

    PhilCycling President Abraham Tolentino said the top finishers in the Le Tour de Filipinas have the advantage of getting slots for the Asian Games. The Le Tour de Filipinas will be held on April 21 to 24 beginning in Clark, Pampanga.

    “The Le Tour de Filipinas has always been a determinant on how strong our cyclists are because it is an international race participated in not only by the best cyclists in Asia but also potent riders from around the world,” said Tolentino.

    The Philippines has 10 riders from continental team 7-Eleven Road Bike Philippines and Philippine Navy-Standard Insurance.

    Former Le Tour de Filipinas winner Baler Ravina, Mark Galedo, Cris Joven, Marcelo Felipe and Mark Julius Bordeos are in the 7-Eleven Road Bike while Philippine Navy Standard Insurance has Santy Barnachea, Joel Calderon, Lloyd Lucien Reynante, Jorge Oconer and John Renee Mier.

    There are 15 teams registered in the International Cycling Union competing in this edition, which got full support from PhilCycling Chairman Bert Lina and Air21.

    The continental teams are based in Japan, Korea, Indonesia, Malaysia, Brunei, Singapore, Ireland and Iran. There are also three clubs from Mongolia, Australia and Kazakhstan and the United Arab Emirates national team.

    Besides Baler, who won in 2012, the other winners in the Le Tour de Filipinas were David McCann of Ireland (2010), Rahim Emami of Iran (2011) and former Asia’s No. 1 Ghader Mizbani of Iran (2013).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.