• Ateneo dominates UAAP swimming


    ATENEO de Manila University copped its first University Athletic Association of the Philippines swimming championship double, topping the Season 77 men’s and women’s divisions competitions held at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool.

    With Jessie Lacuna leading the charge, the Blue Eagles amassed 540 points to dethrone University of the Philippines, which placed second with 325 points.

    Winning seven gold medals in record fashion in the 200-meter individual medley (IM) (2:05.59), 400-meter freestyle (4:04.86), 100m fly (56.01), 200m free (1:53.02), 50-meter butterfly (25.47), 400m IM (4:37.10) and 200m fly (2:03.93) for a maximum 105 points, Lacuna was named the men’s Most Valuable Player (MVP).

    It was Ateneo’s second men’s championship in three years, thanks also to Aldo Batungbacal, who was named the Rookie of the Year after capping his performance by erasing the 13-year old record of Timmy Chua in the 200-meter breaststroke with a new league mark of 2:24.23 to collect 90 points.

    University of Santo Tomas finished in third place with 187 points.

    The Lady Eagles finally ended a six-year title drought by collecting 468 points to unseat the Lady Maroons (430) in the throne.

    Rookie transferee Hannah Dato took the MVP honors in the distaff side after copping seven gold medals, erasing every UAAP mark in the 200m IM (2:21.66), 400m free (4:30.76), 100m fly (1:02.22), 200m free (2:07.87), 50m fly (28.20), 400m IM (5:05.08) and 200m fly (2:19.71) to finish also with 105 points.

    Ateneo’s Ariana Herranz became the top rookie in the women’s division.

    La Salle took the third place trophy with 121 points.

    In the juniors division, Ateneo won its 10th consecutive boy’s title with 544 points while UST ruled the girl’s side with 360 points.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.