Ateneo grabs lead in UAAP swimming


Defending champions Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) Blue Tankers snatched the lead in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) swimming championship at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Stadium in Malate, Manila on Saturday.

The Ateneo Blue Tankers ruled the 400-meter freestyle, 100-meter butterfly, 200-meter backstroke, and 400-meter freestyle relay, while their female counterparts dominated the 400-meter freestyle, 100-meter butterfly, and 200-meter backstroke.

After two days of competition, the Ateneo Blue Tankers had a tight grip of the top spot with 262 points, followed by De La Salle University (DLSU) with 142 points, and University of the Philippines (UP) with 90 points.
In the women’s division, the Ateneo Lady Tankers collected 210 points, enjoying a 21-point advantage over the UP Lady Maroons that finished second with 189 points, followed by University of Santo Tomas (UST) with 73 points.

The 11-peat champion Ateneo Junior Tankers garnered 155 points, edging UST with 141 points, and De La Salle Zobel (DLSZ) with 121 points.

Meanwhile, the DLSZ girls’ swimming team clinched the top spot with 173 points with UST and UP trailing behind with 161 and 119 points, respectively.

“Well, we’re very happy with the performance of the swimmers individually. Although we’re leading, but there’s two more days. Actually, we’re expecting some teams to catch up on the next two days. We’re happy with it but we’re not letting down,” said Ateneo Swimming Program Director Archie Lim.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.