Ateneo leads UAAP overall championship race


Defending champion Ateneo De Manila University leads the overall championship race in the men and women’s divisions of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines Season 78 swimming competitions.

The Blue Eagles collected 122 points on Day 1 with reigning Most Valuable Player (MVP) Jessie Lacuna leading the charge with a two-gold medal showing.

De La Salle University takes the second spot with 67 points followed by University of the Philippines (40) and debuting National University (25).

Lacuna topped the men’s 100-meter freestyle via a record-breaking 51.55-second performance, erasing the 52.3 old mark of University of the Philippines’ Ken Uy in 2008. He won his second gold medal in the 200m Individual Medley (2:06.50).

Ateneo also swept the relay events – 4×200-meter medley (1:49.66) and 4×800-meter freestyle (8:14.58). Last season’s MVP Hannah Dato, on the other hand, spearheaded Ateneo’s onslaught in the women’s division as she bagged two gold medals including record-breaking feat in the 200m freestyle.

Dato registered 58.48 seconds, smashing the old mark of former Ateneo standout Jasmine Ong (59.12). She also ruled the 200m IM in 2:21.92.

Ateneo has so far earned 121 points followed by UP (66), La Salle 38) and University of Santo Tomas (31).

In the juniors division, Ateneo is on top with 101 points against second placer De La Salle-Zobel (69) and third placer UST (50).



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.