• Ateneo retains Golf Classic crown


    Ateneo de Manila University won back-to-backs titles against archrival De La Salle University in the 30th Ateneo-La Salle Golf Classic on September 18.

    The Blue Eagles soared high at the Forest Hills Golf and Country Club in Antipolo garnering a total of 82 points against the Green Archers’ 44 points.

    It was the second straight triumph of the Katipunan-based golfers, who also beat their chief rivals, 80-45, last year.

    The Classic Cup featured six categories—1969-below, and 1970-1979, 1980-1989, and 1990-above —named after the year or decade that members of a team graduated from high school, plus the Ladies and Open divisions.

    The individual winners were Gene Lim of La Salle with 67 points (1969-below class A), Ateneo’s Ramon Roldan with 66 (1969-blow class B), and Ateneo’ Remigio Castaneda III with 66 (1969-below Class C).

    La Sallian Mike Besa (65 net score), Ira Flores (65), and Allan Ybañez (71) topped the decade 70-79 class A, B, C divisions, respectively.

    Meanwhile, decade 80-89 players from Ateneo namely Martin Ilagan (68-A), Jonathan Cornelio (66-B) and Reginald Arceo (71-C) dominated their respective classes.

    Ateneo’s Tonito Payumo (67-A), Joseph Samson (65-B), and Robert Nazal II (63-C) won the decade 90 and above class.

    Angelo Buendia of Ateneo ruled the Open Class A division with 69.80 points while Hannah See of Ateneo topped the Ladies class with 64.

    Part of the tournament’s proceeds will fund scholarship programs of both schools.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.