Ateneo rules 2017 JunGolf interschool meet


Ateneo de Manila University and De La Salle Zobel (DLSZ) ran away with the team titles in the recently concluded 2017 Junior Golfers Foundation of the Philippines Interschool Championship last November 18 and 19 at the Southlinks Golf Club in Las Pinas City.

Ateneo Boys 1 (Grades 10-12) composed of Aidric Chan, Carl Jano Corpus, Coby Rolida, Riggs Illescas and Marc Corrales tallied a final day output of 149 for a 642 total Molave points to win the crown over the DLSZ team of Jolo Magcalayo, Kristoffer Arevalo, Santino Laurel, Riane Casquejo and Joaquin Gomez, who posted a total of 606 points.

Ateneo’s Chan emerged as individual champion with a 225-point total followed by DLZS’s Magcalayo with 221 points. Perry Bucay of Xavier School finished third with 214 points.

DLSZ Girls 1 team of Mikha Fortuna, Jona Magcalayo, Stephanie Cua and Astrud Moscoso trounced British School of Manila (BSM), 360-304, to claim the championship crown of the Grades 10-12 division. Aalia Labrador, Andie Villalon and Louise Tombs made up the BSM Girls 1 team.

Magcalayo bagged the top individual honor with 185 points while Rianne Malixi of Benedictine International School (BIS) landed second with 172 points and Tombs settled for third with 160.

Meanwhile, DLSZ captured its second team title after their Boys 2 (Grades 7-9) team composed of Miguel Ilas, Sean Jean Ramos, Tae Soo Kim, Francis Lanuza and Masaichi Otake dominated the Ateneo team of Miguel Baquiran, Miggy Roque, Lloyd Rico, Santino Diokno, Maio Castaneda, 633-586.

Xavier School’s Sean Young, Robin See, Jacob Chua, Enzo Radovan secured the third spot with 461.

Tae Won Ha of Westfield International School (WIS) won the individual title with seven-point lead, 228-221, over Tae Soo Kim followed by Ramos of DLSZ at third with 206.

The group of Laurea Duque, Arnie Taguines and Sophia Magbitang, on the other hand, bagged the Girls 2 (Grades 7-9) championship with 342 points.

Burberry Zhang of BIS overcame a four-point deficit to capture the individual crown with a 196-point total with Taguiness and Laurea Duque, coming at second and third places with 195 and 194, respectively.

“The tournament was very successful with record breaking numbers in participants coupled with the strong support of our partners and sponsors. We hope to improve this tournament even further and hopefully have bigger interschool tournaments in the Visayas and in Mindanao” said Bobby Pineda, JGFP director and tournament committee co-head.

The 2017 Interschool is the biggest ever interschool championship with over 200 players who participated the event.

The championship was backed by Asia Brewery, Ayala Land Inc, Cherifer, Civic Merchandising Inc., Danone, Universal Robina Beverages, D’Tech, Discovery Suites, C.M. Pancho, HBW, Inquirer Golf, IWSI, El Masfino, JBC Food Corp., National Bookstore, Nike, Oishi, Optivit, P&J, PAL, PGF, PSLE Math, Rebisco, Royal Northwoods, Standard Insurance and Thiocell.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.