Ateneo snatches UAAP women’s badminton crown


ATENEO De Manila University nipped De La Salle University, 3-2, to capture their second straight crown in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) women’s badminton competition on Wednesday at the Jumpsmash Badminton Center in Quezon City.

Patricia Malibiran beat Angelic Ramos, 21-17, 14-21, 21-18 in the deciding singles that extended to more than an hour to win the crown for Ateneo.

The title was third overall for the Lady Eagles, who were unbeaten in 18 games since 2012.

Bianca Carlos, the Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player, took the opening singles with a 21-18, 21-14 victory over Danica San Ignacio. Ateneo established a 2-0 lead after Dia Magno routed Danica San Ignacio, 21-15, 15-21, 21-10, in the second singles.

La Salle won the two doubles matches to forge a rubber match. Alyssa Leonardo and Aires Montilla whipped Carlos and Malibiran, 24-22, 21-18, while Bolos and Ramos beat Magno and Jana de Vera, 21-17, 21-15.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.