• Ateneo, UP clash in UAAP football finals


    Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) and University of the Philippines (UP) will clash in the finals of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) football tournament at the Rizal Memorial Football Stadium at 5 p.m. today.

    UP won two of their matches against the Ateneans in the elimination round.

    Ateneo last won the title in 2013 while UP emerged as champion in 2011 and 2012.

    After a shaky performance in the elimination round, Ateneo notched a 5-4 win on penalties against rivals De La Salle University (DLSU) in the semifinals.

    The Katipunan booters are expected to bank on the prowess of veteran midfielder and team captain Mikko Mabanag as they face the Fighting Maroons.

    Mabanag will be supported by fellow senior player Carlo Liay, prolific scorer Javier Gayoso, Julian Roxas, Mashu Yoshioka and rookie goalie Ken James in their bout against UP.

    UP notched a resounding 3-0 victory over University of Santo Tomas to earn its ticket in this year’s finals.

    The Fighting Maroons will be led by midfielder Daniel Gadia against the Blue Eagles.

    UP is expected to employ a solid back line consisting of Lou Rafanan, Patxi Santos, Feb Baya and Ian Clarino against Ateneo’s frontline.

    Besides the men’s championship, the DLSU Lady Archers and the UP Lady Maroons will also collide at 3 p.m. today in the women’s division finals.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.