Ateneo’s Nieto tops MVP race


Ateneo de Manila University’s Michael Nieto topped the Most Valuable Player (MVP) race after the elimination round of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines Season 77 junior basketball tournament.

Nieto earned a total of 75.00 statistical points (SPs) on 230 points, 166 rebounds, 31 assists, 12 steals and two blocks. He led the Blue Eaglets to a 14-0 clean sweep of the eliminations and an automatic spot to the Finals.

National University’s (NU) Mark Dyke is in far second with 65.85 SPs (187 points, 203 rebounds, 23 assists nine steals and eight blocks) while Nieto’s brother Matthew is in third with 64.00 SPs (208 points, 92 rebounds, 50 assists 13 steals and two blocks).

Rounding up the Top 10 are Aljun Melecio of De La Salle-Zobel (63.42), Frederick Tungcab of Adamson University (56.78), Lorenzo Mendoza of Ateneo (54.14), Joaquin Banzon of La Salle-Zobel (53.71), Christian Fajarito of Far Eastern University-Diliman (50.50), Javi Gomez De Liano of University of the Philippines Integrated School (48.14) and Wendell Comboy of FEU-D (47.07).

NU, Adamson and La Salle-Zobel will be disputing the second Finals berth in a stepladder semifinals. They ended up in a three-way tie for second with 9-5 each.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.