• Australian fighter shines in Balikatan 12 MMA

    Long Nguyen of Vietfighter Gym, Will Twigg and Henry Yap Kobayashi. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Long Nguyen of Vietfighter Gym, Will Twigg and Henry Yap Kobayashi. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Four Hybrid Yaw-Yan bets and Australian fighter Will Twigg won over their respective opponents in the Balikatan 12 Battle for Supremacy mixed martial arts (MMA) tournament held at the Hybrid Yaw-Yan headquarters in Annapolis Cubao, Quezon City on Saturday. Veteran fighter and coach Henry Yap Kobayashi organized the tournament.

    Melanio Rayanon Jr. of Hybrid Yaw-Yan scored a unanimous decision win over Red Bast Fighter’s Patrick Ian Leodones in the first men’s MMA match of the event while Christchan Buentiempo won by majority decision over UGB MMA bet Jaypee Espinosa. The Buen¬tiempo-Espinosa match bagged the Best Fight plum of the night.

    Jerwheel Baylon, also of Hybrid Yaw-Yan won after the referee stopped the fight when Jonathan Veluz of UGB MMA can no longer defend against the former’s ground and pound attack. Carl Sabeniano won by default when his opponent Eduard Cashela of PAMAA didn’t appear on fight night.

    Twigg of Team Vietfighter Sydney was simply too much for Star Valley Fitness Gym fighter Taniboy Fernandez prompting the referee to stop the fight in Round One.

    Ariel Oliveros of UGB MMA scored a second round technical knockout against Famelo Taba¬nao of Samson College MMA in the first Balikatan professional-amateur MMA bout. Oliveros also grabbed the Knockout of the Night Trophy.

    In the women’s grappling contest, Titan MMA’s Lorelee Sicat beat Hybrid Yaw-Yan’s Irish Gail Santos via unanimous decision. In women’s kickboxing, AJJ Gym’s Cristina Irish Conrado bested Titans Fitness Gym’s Francia Victoria delos Reyes via first round technical knockout.

    In the other matches, UGB MMA Gym’s Danilo Sarmiento thumped Samson College MMA’s Jomar Pal-iwen via unanimous decision. PAMAA Fighter Edison Cashela won over Titan MMA Fighter Francis Martin Legaspi via triangle choke. Cashela’s way of winning also took the Submission of the Night award. Yaw-Yan MAC’s Ryan Canata beat Team Freestyle Angelo Laguidao from Laguna by Guillotine Choke while UGB MMA’s Jayson Margallo bested Underground MMA’s Raymundo Ortega via unanimous decision. Duane Lucas Pascua of Sprawl MMA won over Iranian fighter Seyed Mahdi Basirat via rear naked choke in the second round.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.