• ‘Auto Focus’ launches search for PH’s most popular vehicles


    SUNSHINE Television (STV), producer of Auto Focus motoring show, recently launched the “2013-2014 Auto Focus People’s Choice Awards” (AFPCA), an annual program that seeks to determine the Philippines’ most popular automobiles through a unique selection process that combines online public votes and unit sales.

    “As in the previous year, both online votes from the nationwide public poll and year-to-date unit sales will be the key determining factors on which the overall selection process is based,” said STV Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Ray Butch Gamboa. “The opportunity for the public to have a direct hand in determining the winners via the online poll provides the AFPCA a unique merit system for the automotive industry. At the same time, combining this with unit sales recognizes the fact that buying a particular model is an individual car owner’s ultimate expression of choice.”

    Online public voting started on July 1 and will last until September 30. Participants have a maximum of 13 chances to vote, allowing them to select more than one model from a particular category, STV explained. The tally can be viewed at www.autofocus.com.ph.

    For unit sales, STV said it will again work with Stradcom Corp. to create and use a database of new motor vehicles reported sold by dealers to the LTO. No second-hand or gray-market vehicle will be included in the count. The monthly unit sales from January through the end of September will be tallied.

    STV said the award categories are subcompact; midsize and large sedans; sports/performance cars; multipurpose vehicles (previously called AUVs); pickups; vans; compact, midsize and large sports-utility vehicles; and an open category for models that cannot be classified in the categories. A “luxury” class will be included in categories that have significantly distinct price scales. From among the 140 models included will emerge the AFPCA Automobile of the Year award winner.

    STV said a media’s choice award will also be included.

    Past winners of the AFPCA count the Nissan X-Trail, Isuzu Crosswind, Honda Civic, Kia Carens, Hyundai Grand Starex, Kia Sorento, Nissan Teana and the Toyota Vios.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.