Ayala, Sayod lead winners in Balikatan

Fredelyn Sayod of the Philippines celebrates after her victory over Harpreet Kaur of India in Balikatan 15: Goodwill Games. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Fredelyn Sayod of the Philippines celebrates after her victory over Harpreet Kaur of India in Balikatan 15: Goodwill Games. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Hybrid Yaw-Yan mixed martial arts (MMA) fighters Richard Francis Ayala and Fredelyn Sayod led the roster of winners in the Balikatan 15: Goodwill Games held on Sunday at the Marikina Sports Center Covered Court in Marikina City.

Ayala beat Froilan Tomas via Round 2 technical knockout (referee-stoppage) to improve his record to two wins and one loss.

“I am happy that I won this fight. All my hardships during the training was all worth it,” Ayala told The Manila Times.

“My plan now is to double-up my effort and improved my skills for my next fights,” added Ayala, who was actually set to face Indian Gurpreet Singh but the latter failed to show up during the fight night.

Sayod, meanwhile, defeated Harpreet Kaur of India to grab the crown in the women’s 120-125 lbs. division.

The 26-year old radiographer from Antipolo bested her foes on takedowns, and ground and pound to win the match via unanimous decision.

“It was hard. I didn’t expect her play. But luckily, I was able to overcome it,” said Sayod.

Sharing the spotlight was Ariva Boxing Gym fighter Jason Bandosa, who defeated Empire Boxing Gym’s Rene Narido via arm bar in the opening round. Bandosa also received the Fastest Submission Award of the night.

Omega Fitness Gym fighter Jomar Pal-iwen trounced Christopher San Agustin via first round knockout in their Super MMA bout.

After his loss late last year, Sprawl MMA fighter Duane Lucas Pascua bounced back with a strong win against Hybrid Yaw-Yan’s Willie Benedicto in their Pro-Am MMA fight.

In the Teen MMA match, Herdoza Michael Dulnuan of Herdoza Fitness Gym won against Yaw-Yan Kampilan’s Jerson San Jose through ankle lock submission in the third round. Dulnuan, because of the win bagged the Best Submission plum of the night.

In the other matches, Boss MMA’s Niño Lorenzo Bautista won over Ace Darwin Ross via referee stoppage, Yaw-Yan MAC’s Ryan Canata beat Empire Boxing Gym’s Albert Alcoy via submission in the second round, Yaw-Yan Kampilan’s Ernesto Siwa trounced Budo Kai Do’s Jaswinder Singh, Boss MMA’s Cyrille Malonjao defeated Samson College MMA’s Prince Marl Bitangcor via first round referee stoppage, Ricardo Jose Martinez of Boss MMA beat Harvey Miguel Villena of Hybrid Yaw-Yan via knockout in round two, Empire Boxing Gym’s Chapito Rivera won over Elorde Don Antonio’s Francis Ralph Macasojot via referee stoppage in round two, Empire Boxing Gym’s Joemar Labiogo defeated Elorde Pegasus’ Peter John Ramao via doctor’s stoppage in second round, Budo Kai Do’s Abhinay Dadwal outclassed Yaw-Yan Kampilan’s Christopher Peña via unanimous decision, Yaw-Yan Batangas City’s Jeofran Anorico bested Samson College’s John Sherick Lomibao via guillotine choke submission in round two, and Boss MMA’s Raymond de Guzman overpowered Empire Boxing Gym’s Vernon Escote via unanimous decision in the curtain raiser kickboxing match.

Winning by default were Empire Gym’s Rene Narido, Hybrid Yaw-Yan’s Santino Dumalao, and Ariva Boxing Gym’s Jason Bandosa against Budo Kai Do’s Kuldeep Singh, Farjinder Singh, and Gurwinder Singh, respectively.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.