• Baguio tops arnis, muay thai to rule Batang Pinoy’s Luzon leg


    Baguio City leaned on arnis and muay to clinch the overall title of the 2013 Batang Pinoy Pinoy Luzon Leg in Iba, Zambales.

    Baguio overtook Quezon City for the overall crown after seizing eight gold medals in arnis and two in muay.

    Half of the arnis gold were won by Norielyn Sagun, 14, who won in the girls anyo synchronized double identical weapon and anyo single weapon, double identical weapon and sword and dagger events.
    Rey Abogadi added a gold of his own with a win over teammate Sheen Pakilan in the boys’ anyo sword and dagger event and joined Pakilan and Eza Rai Yalong for the anyo synchronized double identical weapon and sword and dagger title.
    Baguio’s other golds came from the girls anyo synchronized sword and dagger, while its muay fighters Ariel Lee Lampacan (boys 14-15 51kgs) and Clyde Drexler Soriano (14-15 57kg) dominated their events.

    Baguio collected a total of 47 gold, 49 silver and 37 bronze medals in the four-day meet.
    Quezon City, which fought gamely in muay and badminton in the last
    two days, ended the Luzon games with 44 gold, 28 silver and 35 bronze medals.
    Muay specialists Jessa Rivera (girls 14-15 42kg), Joshue Rivera (boys 14-15 42kg), Lolit Lauron (girls 45kg) and Sean Keith Rollon (boys 45kg) provided Quezon City’s last ditch effort along with badminton winners Jason Vanzuela (boys 12-under singles) and Glenn Felix Camillo (boys 15-under singles).
    Swimmers Maurice Sacho Ilustre of Manila and Marc Audrey Santos of Malolos, Bulacan and archer Althea Nasha Dionaldo had four golds each to emerge as the meet’s most outstanding athletes along with Sagun.
    All medalists in the Luzon qualifying will meet the top performers from Mindanao and Visayas in the national finals in Bacolod City on Nov.19-23.
    Also making it to the national finals were muay gold winners Bernard Dolores (12-13-year category, 40-kgs) of Muntinlupa City, Mariz Ambuyoc (12-13-year category, 54-kg), Bulacan’s Jeremie Yalung (14-15-year category, 40-kgs), Olongapo’s Alvin Joseph Clark (12-13-year category,  42-kgs) and Ifugao’s Chris Kaizer Monayao
    (14-15-year category,  48-kg) and Robert Balinon (13-14-year category, 54-kg).
    Pangasinan, last year’s regional champion, wound up third (25-25-29). followed by Laguna (16-20-31) and Manila (16-7-6).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.