Banatao, Abad top National Duathlon in Iloilo City


As the Iloilo River teems with life while serving as the visual centerpiece of Sunday’s National Duathlon ChampionshipsJarwyn Banatao of Baguio city scored a huge upset over early favorite Emmanuel Comendador of Bohol with a superb bike performance leaving his pursuers going into Transition 2 with a four-minute gap and clear the finish line solo.

Earlier in the race Banatao was in a tight spot with Comendador and Requi Trupa in the first 8.5-km run leg but managed to break away from everyone in the 40-km bike segment and finished the final 6.5-km run leg strongly timing two hours and 17 seconds. Comendador, who suffered from stomach cramps as he tried to cut Banatao’s lead in the bike leg, finished 2nd with a time of 2:04:28 and third place went to Jolan Olmilla of Cebu with 2:04:59.

On the distaff side, Mirasol Abad survived a serious challenge from Miscelle Gilbuena to retain her crown with a winning time of 2:22:47. Gilbuena won the silver in 2:23:36 while Iloilo’s Alexandra Dumaran finished in 2:30:13 for the bronze.

On the sprint distance Junior Elite race (19-under), national aquathlon champion Andrew Kim Remolino scored a photo finish win over John Caleb Barlin for the gold while on the girls’ side Karen Andrea Manayon won easily over Kyla Mari Gomez by a margin of almost 13 minutes.

On the sprint 20-over race, Jelsie Sabado edged youth standout Vicky Deldio while Jero Jaro Matthew had an easy victory over Ronald Egaran.

Other champions were Arlette Maratas (Female Standard Distance 30-above), Romulo Balinas (SD 20-29), Oliver Porillano (SD 30-39), Albert Ng (SD 40-49), Dondon Geraldez (SD 50-over) and Team Boracay (SD Team Relay).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.