Baranda, Dumlao tops Toyota Vios Cup season opener

The Vios Cup racers negotiate the tricky Turn 2 of the Clark International Speedway

The Vios Cup racers negotiate the tricky Turn 2 of the Clark International Speedway

THE second season of the Toyota Vios Cup flagged-off to a thunderous roar at the Clark International Speedway (CIS) last Saturday with a record number of cars joining the grid.

The one-make race, which is supported by Toyota Motors Philippines, has gained much popularity since its maiden season last year, as over 40 drivers participated in Saturday’s race.

This year’s celebrity racers include Phoemela Baranda, Jinno Rufino, DJ Sam YG, Jasmin Curtis-Smith, Joyce Pring and Derek Ramsey.

Pauland Dumlao

Pauland Dumlao

Other competitors include Alexis Salvador, Allan Uy, Andres Calma, Basti Escalante, Bryan Co, Roy Bunag, Carlos Loinaz, Charlie Cojuangco, Dominic Ochoa, Ramon Tanjuatco, Jeje Villena, Juan Nolasco, JV Ejercito, Paolo Rodriguez, Luis Gono, Paul Ang, Pauland Dumlao, Robert Lilles, Miguel Diaz, Steve Bicknell, Tonton Ramos, Bombi Palilio, Estefano Rivera, Raymond Ronquillo, Bobby Domingo, Daniel Miranda, Victor Buensuceso, Miko Maristela, Sherwin Hing, Arthur De Jong, Alfie Concepcion, Tomohiro Iwa Moto and TMP president Michinobu Sugata.

With such a big grid, the race organizers were forced to split the racers into two groups, as FIA rules allow only a maximum of 35 cars for one-make races. The two groups were decided based on their qualifying times. The top 20 racers who post the best times during the Qualifying Time Trials (QTT) will be grouped in the Sporting Division.The rest, will be grouped in the Promotional Division, together with the celebrity drivers.

Phoem Baranda

Phoem Baranda

In the provisional results, the maiden race for the Promotional Division was won by Phoem Baranda, with Miguel Diaz in second place. Arthur de Jong claimed the last podium position.

In the Sporting Class, the hotly contested battle was won by Pauland Dumlao with newcomer Estefano Rivera closely finishing in second. As of press time, race organizers were still tabulating the time penalties to be imposed on all drivers for race-rule infractions.

The Toyota Vios Cup Season 2 will take place over four weekends.With Round 1 having taken place at the CIS, Round 2 will be held at a yet to be determined location, most likely a street circuit in Cebu City. Round 3 will be held in another street circuit in Metro Manila this September. The season will be capped off in November with the race returning to the CIS in Pampanga.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.