Beda swimmers dominate 2017 Universiade tryouts


San Beda College swimmers, led by Joshua Junsay, dominated the National Capital Region (NCR) qualifying tournament for next year’s Summer Universiade in Chinese Taipei.

Junsay, who was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) after leading the San Beda Sea Lions to their 14th consecutive title in the National Collegiate Athletic Association last year, clocked 2:21.09 in the men’s 200-meter butterfly event during the tryouts held at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Center.

John Henry Gurango, Robi Mangilinan and Guillermo Clemente IV also showed their swimming prowess in the qualifying tournament conducted by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (FESSAP) through its member Philippine Inter-Schools, Colleges and Universities Athletic Association (PISCUAA).

Gurango won the men’s 50-meter butterfly (26.96), 100-meter butterfly (59.91), 400-meter freestyle (4:34.25) and 800-meter freestyle (9:47.34); Mangilinan ruled the men’s 50-meter backstroke (28.86), 100-meter freestyle (55.06) and 200-meter freestyle (2:06.22); and Clemente was the fastest in the men’s 50-meter backstroke (30.72), 100-meter breaststroke (1:07.76) and 200-meter breaststroke (2:31.82).

Ma. Aresa Lipat of De La Salle-College of St. Benilde was the best performer in the women’s division.

Lipat, a three-time MVP in the NCAA, won the 100-meter butterfly (1:06.55), 100-meter freestyle (1:00.96), 50-meter backstroke (32.28), 50-meter butterfly (29.52) and 50-meter freestyle (27.49) events.

San Beda’s Chloe Medina and Gwen Brynne Prejula were equally impressive in their respective events.

Medina won the women’s 100-meter backstroke (1:13.31), 200-meter backstroke (2:38.49) and 200-meter individual medley (2:37.74), while Prejula ruled the women’s 200-meter freestyle (2:18.71) and 400-meter freestyle (4:58.59).

Other winners were Katrina Mae Garcia in the women’s 50-meter breaststroke (38.14) and 100-meter breaststroke (1:23.63); Christian Dimaculangan in the men’s 100-meter backstroke (1:02.48) and 200-meter backstroke (2:16.99); Larriane Mary Jho Muyalde in the women’s 200-meter breaststroke (3:03.10); River Gail Salonga in the women’s 200-meter butterfly (2:41.93); Frances Mary Cabrera in the women’s 400-meter Individual Medley (5:35.09); Rogelio Rafael Frias topped the men’s 200-meter individual medley (2:19.25) and 400-meter individual medley (5:06.60); and Joshua Casino in the men’s 50-meter freestyle (25.22) and 1,500-meter freestyle (19:50.67).

Iloilo City will host the Visayas qualifying tournament next month. The competition will be supervised by the FESSAP-accredited club headed by Ivy Sta. Ana of Private Schools Athletic Association (PRISAA)-Iloilo.

The tryouts for Mindanao swimmers will be held in Tagum, Zamboanga under the supervision of FESSAP board member Roel Natividad Sr. in December.

The PISCUAA Swimming Working Committee shall evaluate the results of all the qualifying meets and submit its recommendation to the FESSAP Board for final approval.

FESSAP, recognized by the Asian University Sports Federation since 2000, is a member of the International University Sports Federation (FISU), which coordinates the activities of more than 100 national university sports federations and organizes the Summer and Winter Universiades.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.