Best publications in 2014 recognized


Manila Critics’ Circle (MCC) and the National Book Development Board (NBDB) presented and recognized the best of Filipino publications in the 33rd National Book Awards on November 18 at the Marble Hall of the Museum of the Filipino People, National Museum.

The awardees were: Allan Derain’s “Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag” for Juan C. Laya Prize for Best Novel in a Philippine Language; Merlinda Bobis’ “Fish-Hair Woman” for Juan C. Laya Prize for Best Novel in a Foreign Language; Macario Pineda’s “Sa Himaymay ng Puso at iba pang Kuwento” for Best Book of Short Fiction in Filipino; Nikki Alfar’s “Now, Then, and Elsewhen” for Cirilio F. Bautista Prize Best Book of Short Fiction in English.

Also awarded were Jessica Hagedorn’s “Manila Noir” for Best Anthology in English; Paz Verdadez Santos’ and H. Francico Peñones’ “Hagong: Mga Osipon” for Best Anthology in Bikol; Ferdinand Pisigan Jarin’s “Anim na Sabado ng Beyblade at iba pang Sanaysay” for Best Book of Non-Fiction in Filipino Language; Celine Beatrice Fabie’s “Mona Lisa: A Portrait from the Memoirs of a Grandmother” for Best Book of Non-Fiction in English.

In the poetry categories, winners were Kristian Sendon Cordero’s “Labi” for Best Book of Poetry in Filipino; Ricardo de Ungria’s “m’mry wire” for the Philippine Literary Arts Council Prize for Best Book of Poetry in English; and KS Cordero’s “Canticos: Apat na Boses” for the Best Book of Poetry in Bikol.

Meanwhile, Borg Sinaban’s “PilandoKomiks Isyu 2: Mga Pagsubok ng Karagatan” won the Best Book of Graphic Literature in Filipino; Budjette Tan, Bow Guerrero and J.B. Tapia’s “The Dark Colony Book I: Mikey Recio & The Secret of the Demon Dungeon” received the Best Book of Graphic Literature in English.

Also recognized were Victor Dennis Nierva’s translation of “Doros asin mga Anghel: Translations in Bikol of John Donne’s Holy Sonnets and Selected Works” for Best Translated Books; Maria Viginia Yap Morales’ “Balay Ukit: Tropical Architecture in Pre-WWII Filipino Houses” for Alfonso T. Ongpin Prize for Best Book on Art; Analyn Salvador-Amores’ “Tapping Ink, Tattooing Identities: Tradition and Modernity in Contemporary Kalinga Society, North Luzon, Philippines” for the Elfren S. Cruz Prize for Best Book in the Social Sciences; Patricia May Jurilla’s “Story Book: Essays on the History of the Book in the Philippines” for Best Book in History and Journalism; Bryan Koh’s “Milk Pigs and Violet Gold: Philippine Cookery” for best Book on Food; Gisela Padilla-Concepcion’s “Science Philippines: Essays on Science by Filipinos, Volume II” for best Book on Science.

Best Design was awarded to Cid Reyes’ “Made of Gold” designed by Aman Santos while the publisher of the year was awarded to Anvil Publishing Inc.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.