• Bills against contractual labor ‘ignored’ in House


    The House of Representatives apparently has been ignoring at least 18 pending bills that seek to stop massive contractualization of the country’s labor force.

    Based on congressional records, five of these measures that ban probationary employment exceeding six months from the date the employee starts working have been languishing in the House Committee on Labor since July 2013.

    These House Bills were filed by Em Aglipay-Villar of DIWA party-list (HB 124), Leah Paquiz of Ang Nars party-list (HB 152), Silvestre Bello (HB 2419) of 1-BAP party-list, Democrito Mendoza of Trade Union of Congress of the Philippines party-list (HB 3559) and Rufus Rodriguez of Cagayan de Oro City (HB 4227).

    The House labor panel is headed by Davao City Rep. Karlo Nograles.

    On the other hand, seven measures–which grant security of tenure to contractual or temporary government employees who have rendered a total of 10 years of efficient service–are also gathering dust at the House Committee on Civil Service and Professional Regulation headed by Leyte Rep. Andres Salvacion, Jr.

    These bills were filed by Frednil Castro of Capiz (HB 564), Amado Bagatsing of Manila (HB 569), Ashley Acedillo of Magdalo party-list (HB 974), Ma. Victoria Alvarado of Bulacan (HB 1095), Marcelino Teodoro of Marikina City (HB 1530), Rodriguez of Cagayan de Oro City (HB 1975) and George Arnaiz of Negros Oriental (HB 2348).

    Cavite Rep. Lani Mercado has filed an improved version of the 10-year-threshold by proposing to grant security of tenure to contractual or temporary government employees who have rendered at least five years of efficient service under HB 1490, but such initiative has also been getting nowhere since July 2013.

    Barangay (village) workers who are also waiting for stable employment have nothing to hope for since five bills that provide security of tenure for secretary, treasurer and health workers are virtually buried in a haystack at the House Committee on Local Government headed by Rep. Pedro Acharon Jr. of South Cotabato.

    Three of the five bills filed by Mark Llandro Mendoza of Batangas (HB 2172), Zajid Mangudadatu of Maguindanao (HB 4415) and Frederick Abueg of Palawan (HB 5287)—which have been pending since July 2013—could have made the barangay secretary and the barangay treasurer regular plantilla positions, thus granting them security of tenure and other benefits.

    The two other proposals that pitched security of tenure for barangay health workers filed by Doy Leachon of Oriental Mindoro (HB 4152) and Mercedes Alvarez (HB 5277), have been unacted by the House local government committee.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.