• Biñan City now chartered


    The Senate has approved on third and final reading House Bill No. 3917, which separates Biñan from the first legislative district of Laguna province and constitutes the lone legislative district of the city of Biñan.

    The measure is sponsored Sen. Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., chair of the Senate Committee on Local Governments, and co-sponsored by Senators Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel 3rd and Nancy Binay.

    House Bill No. 3917 was approved with 15 affirmative votes, and zero negative vote. Sotto, however, abstained from voting on the measure.

    According to Marcos, a census on population and housing by the Philippine Statistics Authority in 2010 places the number of residents in the city of Biñan to 283,396.

    “The noted increase in the population of the city of Biñan which now exceeds the 250,000 population threshold for a city to be entitled to one legislative district, the city deserves its own seat in the House of Representatives,” Marcos said.

    “Prior to its cityhood in 2010, Biñan was the richest municipality in the Philippines with an annual gross income of P677 million and net income of P250 million as of 2007, based on the record from the Commission on Audit. In the last three years, it has been reported that the city generated an average annual gross income of P1.3 billion,” Marcos also said.

    The city of Biñan is one of three local government units comprising the first legislative district of the Province of Laguna. The cities of San Pedro and Sta. Rosa remain in the same district.

    House Bill No. 3917 is authored by Representatives Dan Fernandez, Pedro Acharon, George Arnaiz, Jonathan Dela Cruz, Anthony Bravo, Isagani Amatong, Juliette Uy, Monique Lagdameo, Carlos Padilla, Celso Lobregat, Lino Cayetano, Ibarra Gutierrez, Erlpe Amante, Carlos Zarate, Mel Senen Sarmiento, Ma. Victoria Sy-Alvarado, and Raneo Abu.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.