Binays regain Makati


(Second of two parts)
Although Vice President Jejomar Binay was defeated in the presidencial race, the Binays regained control of Makati City as outgoing congresswoman Abby Binay-Campos was elected mayor of the country’s business and financial center.

Binay’s husband, Luis Campos, took over his wife’s former post of nine years having been elected congressman of the city’s second district.

Senator Nancy Binay will stay in the Senate until 2019.

In Mandaluyong City, Mayor Benhur Abalos did not seek reelection but let his wife Menchie run instead.

Their daughter Charisse Marie was reelected as councilor.

House Majority Floor Leader Neptali “Boyet Gonzales Jr. also did not run but his wife, Queenie, won a seat at the House of Representatives.

In Pasay City, Mayor Antonino Calixto was re-elected for another term. His sister, Emi Calixto Rubiano, remains as Pasay City representative.

Mayor Calixto’s son Mark was elected as the number one councilor of the city’s first district.

A relative, Joey Calixto Isidro, also bagged a seat in the Sangguniang Panglunsod representing the city’s second district.

Parañaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez was reelected together with his brother, District 1 Rep. Eric Olivarez.

In Las Piñas City, Mayor Vergel “Nene” Aguilar’s three terms is about to end, thus, his wife, Imelda “Mel” Aguilar ran instead and won.

Two more Aguilars, Peewee and Carlo, topped the race for councilors in the city’s two districts.

Mayor Aguilar’s nephew, Rep. Mark Villar, was re-elected as the lone congressman of the city. Villar’s mother, Cynthia Villar, is a senator. Cynthia is the sister of Mayor Aguilar.

In Caloocan City, Mayor Oscar “Oca” Malapitan got a second term.

His son, Councilor Dale Along Malapitan, chairman of the Association of the Barangay Captains (ABC) of the city, was elected as representative of the city’s first district.

Vice Mayor Macario “Maca” Asistio 3rd, son of former Rep. Baby Asistio, was also reelected. His cousin, Councilor Dean Asistio was also reelected as well as his nephew, Councilor Luis Asistio 3rd.

In Malabon City, former senator and congresswoman Tessie Aquino Oreta failed to get her old congressional post, but her son, Mayor Antolin “Lenlen” Oreta 3rd, got a second term as he defeated Rep. Jaye Lacson-Noel.

Oreta’s brother, Enzo, was elected as second district councilor.

Mayor John Rey Tiangco and Rep. Tobby Tiangco of Navotas City were both reelected.

The Gatchalian brothers of Valenzuela City remain in power. Rep. Sherwin Gatchalian is assured of a Senate seat, placing 10th in the senatorial race. Buhay party-list Rep. Weslie Gatchalian will replace him congressman of the city’s first district.

Mayor Rexlon Gatchalian won his second term.

Muntinlupa and Marikina have no political dynasties but old politicians won the elections.
Muntinlupa City Mayor Jaime Fresnedi was re-elected.

The city’s congressional seat was taken once again by Ruffy Biazon from his father Rep. Rodolfo Biazon who ended his third term.

The mayoralty post of Marikina City will go to outgoing First District Rep. Marcy Teodoro. His post will be taken over by Bayani “BF” Fernando.

Fernando served as mayor for three terms, while his wife, Marides, was also mayor of the city for six years.

Ike Ponce, the mayor of Pateros, is the only elective official who is new in the game.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.