• Boracay Dragon Force finishes 2nd in international tilt


    Boracay Dragon Force-Philippines racked up five gold medals to finish second overall in the medal standings in the 10th Boracay International Dragon Boat Festival held in Boracay in Malay, Aklan.

    The Filipino paddlers dominated the 500m mixed standard boat, 500m mixed small boat, 500m men’s standard boat, 250m mixed standard boat and 250m men’s standard boat in the tournament sanctioned by the Philippine Canoe-Kayak Federation and International Canoe Federation.

    “It was a great tournament. A lot of good paddlers showed up and the races both in the 500m and 250m were really exciting. We’re looking forward to another successful edition next year,” said PCKF national head coach and tournament director Len Escollante.

    Hong Kong’s BGC Stormy Dragons bagged the top spot with six gold medals after ruling the 500m women’s small boat, 500m mixed masters small boat, 500m men’s small boat, 250m women’s small boat, 250m mixed masters small boat and 500m international mixed standard boat.

    Singapore Barbarians placed third with the same five-gold medal output coming from 500m women’s standard boat, 250m women’s standard boat, 250m international mixed small boat, 250m international mixed standard boat and 500m international mixed small boat.

    “The goal for us is to come here and have a great time. And winning a medal is just a bonus. We love being in the Philippines we love the people here in the Philippines,” said Paul Robinson of Singapore Barbarians.

    Boracay Sea Dragons pocketed the gold medal in the 250m mixed small boat category in the three-day meet participated by more than 20 teams from different countries.

    “We’re happy that our international participants enjoyed the Boracay waters. Everybody had fun,” said Boracay Bumshells’ Elena Brugger.

    The other teams were China Dragons, Boracay Dragonflies, University of the Philippines Dragonboat Team, De La Salle University Dragonboat Team, Boracay Bumshells, Nami Ati Team, Gruppo Habagat Paramount, Team DNA, Kiyahh Splash, Filipino Dragons Singapore and Team Hilera, among others.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.