Boy Abunda, Lav Diaz, Lily Monteverde to receive special awards at 1st Eddys


Besides giving the customary awards for Best Film, Best Actor, Best Actress and the like, the first Entertainment Editors’ Choice Award for Movies—nicknamed The Eddys—will also recognize three respected names in Philippine show business come July 9 at the Kia Theater.

The members of the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors: (seated from left) Tessa Mauricio-Arriola, ‘The Manila Times’; Isah Red, ‘Manila Standard’; Jojo Panaligan, ‘The Manila Bulletin’; Salve Asis, ‘Pilipino Star Ngayon’; (standing from left) Gie Trillana, ‘Malaya Business Insight’; Jerry Olea, ‘Abante Tonite’; Dinah Ventura, ‘Daily Tribune’; Dondon Sermino, ‘Abante’; Ian Fariñas, ‘People’s Tonight’; Eugene Asis, ‘People’s Journal’; Maricris Nicasio, ‘Hataw’; Rohn Romulo, ‘People’s Balita’; and [not in photo]Rito Asilo, ‘Inquirer’; Ervin Santiago, ‘Bandera’; and Nestor Cuartero, ‘Tempo’

Boy Abunda and Lav Diaz will respectively receive the Joe Quirino and Manny Pichel awards for successfully crossing over to different fields from their original professions—Abunda from talent management to becoming a top TV host himself, and Diaz from being an entertainment journalist to a multi-awarded film director. The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors [SPEEd], the non-stock, non-profit organization behind The Eddys, named this pair of awards after the late Quirino and Pichel who were both entertainment editors for many years.

Meanwhile, with the awards aimed at recognizing the best of the Filipino talent in moviemaking, as well as encouraging the industry to continue churning quality films, Regal Film’s Lily Monteverde will be given the Most Active Producer of the Year Award. Just last May, Monteverde was given the title Ina ng Pelikulang Pilipino by the Film Development Council of the Philippines, the lead government agency for film in the country.

The Eddys was officially launched over the weekend to coincide with the announcement of nominations in the following categories: Best Film—Pamilya Ordinaryo, Ang Babaeng Humayo, Everything About Her, Saving Sally, Die Beautiful; Best Director—Jun Robles Lana for Die Beautiful, Lav Diaz for Ang Babaeng Humayo, Avid Liongoren for Saving Sally, Joyce Bernal for Everything About Her, Eduardo Roy Jr. for Pamilya Ordinaryo;

Best Actress—Hasmine Killip for Pamilya Ordinaryo, Jaclyn Jose for Ma’ Rosa, Vilma Santos for Everything About Her, Rhian Ramos for Saving Sally, Charo Santos for Ang Babaeng Humayo, Nora Aunor for Tuos, Ai-Ai delas Alas for Area; Best Actor—Daniel Padilla for Barcelona: A Love Untold; Paolo Ballesteros for Die Beautiful, Enzo Marcos for Saving Sally, Dingdong Dantes for The Unmarried Wife, Ronwaldo Martin for Pamilya Ordinaryo.

The complete list of categories and respective nominees are lifted on the Eddys Facebook page.SPEEd, which is comprised of entertainment editors from the country’s top daily broadsheets tabloids, further announced that father and son Edu and Luis Manzano have agreed to host the awards night—their very first endeavor as co-emcees—and that a delayed telecast will be aired on the same night, July 9, over ABS-CBN.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.