• BSP grants relief measures for lenders


    The central bank is granting regulatory and rediscounting relief measures to banks and non-bank financial institutions with quasi-banking functions (NBQBs) that have head offices and/or branches located in the areas affected by Typhoon Seniang.

    Approved on January 14 by the Monetary Board, the central bank said the areas covered by the regulatory relief are provinces of Occidental Mindoro and Palawan in Region IV-B; Antique, Capiz, Iloilo and Negros Occidental in Region VI; Bohol, Cebu and Siquijor in Region VII.

    Other areas were Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar (Western Samar) and Southern Leyte in Region VIII; Zamboanga del Sur in Region IX; Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao Del Norte and Misamis Oriental in Region X.

    Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, and Davao Oriental in Region XI; and Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur in Region XIII were also included in the relief measure.

    For thrift banks/rural banks/cooperative banks, the temporary relief measures were the exclusion of existing loans of borrowers in affected areas from the computation of past due ratios, provided these are restructured or given relief; reducing the 5-percent general loan-loss provision to 1 percent for restructured loans of borrowers in the affected areas; and non-imposition of penalties on legal reserves deficiencies with head office and/or branches in the affected areas.

    The relief also include moratorium on monthly payments due the BSP for banks with ongoing rehabilitation programs; subject to BSP approval, booking of allowance for probable losses on a staggered basis over maximum of five years for all types of credit extended to individual and businesses directly affected by the calamity; and non-imposition of monetary penalties for delays in the submission of supervisory reports.

    For all banks, the regulatory relief allows banks to provide financial assistance to their officers and employees who were affected by the calamity, including assistance that may not be within the scope of the existing BSP-approved Fringe Benefit Program.

    For all rediscounting banks, the relief includes the granting of a 60-day grace period to settle the outstanding rediscounting obligations as of December 6, 2014 with the BSP of all rediscounting banks in the affected areas; and allowing banks to restructure with the BSP, on a case-to-case basis, the outstanding rediscounted loans of borrowers affected by the calamity.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.